--> Skip to main content


Showing posts from June 3, 2020

Dhanada – About Dhanada Form of Kubera

Dhanada is one among the numerous names of Kubera, the god of wealth. He gets this name as he is the Hindu God associated with money, wealth and material possessions. Another similar name of Kuber is Dhaneshvara. Dhana means wealth. It must be noted that Dhanada do not bless devotes with wealth but he is believed to be the deity who distributes wealth wisely among the desired devotees and protects it. As per Puranas, Dhanada is also the leader of Yakshas. He lost an eye due to a curse by Goddess Parvati. Dhanada performed intense austerities and pleased Shiva and Goddess Parvati. The divine couple appeared before him. Dhanada was astounded by the splendor and beauty of Goddess Parvati who was bedecked with jewels. Goddess Parvati mistook Kubera’s staring for evil intention and she cursed that let one of his eyes burst. Dhanada was now left with one eye and he explained that he had no evil intention and he had stared as he had not seen such fine gold jewelry before.

Meera Bai Death – How Did Meera Bai Die?

There have been so many princesses and queens before and after Meera Bai but we rarely remember them. There is no death to Meera Bai. It is true she left her physical body but she continues to live in the minds of devotees. Here is an answer to the query how did Meera Bai die. The fame of Meera Bai spread around the world. She was brought her back to Mewar. She resided in the temple of Krishna. But, she frequented Vrindavan, Dwarka and other holy places associated with Bhagavan Sri Krishna. On a Krishna Janmashtami (birthday of Sri Krishna), Meera sang and danced ecstatically. She then moved towards the murti of Bhagavan Sri Krishna. She stumble d and fell at the flowers near the feet of Krishna. She muttered how Krishna you are calling me, I am coming. Suddenly there was a lightning and the doors of the sanctum sanctorum closed. The doors of the sanctum sanctorum opened a few minutes later. But Meera Bai was not to be seen. Her saree was enveloping the murti of

Personal God In Hinduism – Ishta Devata

The concept of personal god, or ishta devata, is one among the numerous aspects that makes Hinduism different from monolithic religions. Hindu religion gives an individual the freedom to see God in a particular form the individual likes. An individual is even given the freedom to create a form of God that the individual likes. A devotee can choose a form which satisfies his/her spiritual longing and make that the object of adoration and love. This is the personal god of the devotee. Vedas emphatically states that Reality is one, sages call it by different names. The concept of personal God in Hinduism is based on this teaching. A devotee can choose his personal god from Vishnu, Shiva, Krishna, Ganesha, Hanuman or one of the avatars or one of the myriad forms of Shakti. Hinduism believes that God incarnates Himself for helping the spiritual evolution of mankind. Rama and Krishna are two of the prominent avataras of God. One may choose any one of these avatars as the is

Story Of Indumati – Mother Of Dashrath Of Ramayana

Indumati, the princess of Vidarbha, was the mother of Dashrath of Ramayana (father of Lord Rama) and she was immortalized in the epic poem Raghuvamsa of Kalidasa. Indumati was the sister of the King Bhoja of Vidarbha. King Bhoja organized a swayamvara (choosing a suitable husband from an assembly of prospective groom from various regions) for Indumati to choose her spouse. Indumati entered the assembly hall with a garland in hand, where the princes had assembled. Many brave and handsome princes had gathered to wed Indumati. As she moved from one prince to another, Sunanda, friend of Indumati, described the achievements of each prince. She passed on from one prince to another and each turned pale as she passed them. At last, Indumati chose Prince Aja of Ayodhya from the Ikshvaku dynasty. The marriage was solemnized. However, the princess who were left out attacked Aja out of jealousy. Aja, a brave warrior, used his sammohan weapon and rendered them all unconscious. Rag

Understanding Sattva – Rajas – Tamas – In Simple Easy Terms

The fourteenth chapter of the Bhagavad Gita discusses sattva, rajas, and tamas, the three constituents (gunas) of Prakriti, or Nature. By Nature is meant everything other than the Spirit. Thus our mind, sense organs, and body are also part of Nature, or are products of sattva, rajas, and tamas. These three gunas inhere in different proportions in an individual, one predominating over the other two. Spiritual evolution involves freeing ourselves of attachment to body, mind, and senses. It is a journey from tamas to sattva. Tamas stands for inertness and dullness, and rajas for activity mixed with passion, desire, restlessness, and attachment to action and its result. Sattva signifies calmness in the midst of activity. The spiritual seeker has to get rid of tamas through activity, rajas, remaining free at the same time of the negative aspects of rajas like passion, desire, and attachment. This is called karma-yoga, or performing work as worship. Such selfless action lead