--> Skip to main content

For Happiness Defeat These Six Enemies

If we are able to score victory over these six enemies then we can lead a peaceful and prosperous life on earth. When we have good control over these six enemies we will achieve success in life. The six enemies to be defeated for happiness on earth are:

Rejoicing at the unnecessary killing of animals or other living beings (himsa or violence)
Feel of superiority and


According to Sri Ramakrishna Paramahamsa, the emotion or thought of lustfulness cannot be suppressed, repressed, or annihilated with the thought of hatred toward the opposite sex. We have to learn the art of transforming lustfulness into the love of God.

He who is able to withstand even while alive the agitation caused by lust and anger — he is the self-controlled one and he is the happy man. (Bhagavad Gita, 5.23)

He whose mind and heart are established in Supreme Peace is not touched by the blinding evils born of lust and hate. (Yoga Vasishta)

True independence is an inner life free from the sovereignty of anger, lust and greed. (Swami Sivananda)

Lust, anger, and avarice—these are but different forms of the same thing. They are the eternal enemies of the jnani, and destroyers of knowledge and wisdom. Join the senses to the Lord. That is the way to teach the senses a lesson. (Swami Turiyananda)


Triple are the gates that lead to hell, destructive of the Self. They are lust, anger and greed. Knowing these three as such, one should therefore reject them. (Bhagavad Gita)

Whom the world is not afraid of and who is not afraid of the world and who is free from exultation, anger and fear, he is said to be liberated while living. (Yoga Vasishta)

In this effort, man will have to face many enemies like Kama or desire, krodha or anger, lobha or greed, and moha or delusion. Of these, anger is the most fearful for who will try to put all sorts of obstacles in one's struggle to attain moksha (liberation). (Yoga Vasishta)


Success depends on how well a person can enforce control over lust, anger, greed, vanity, haughtiness and over joy. (Chanakya)

The intellect is only one expression of the Ego. Ego has multiple manifestations. Even after you surrender the intellect, various heads of the Ego keep popping up in the form of impatience, anger, jealousy, greed etc. Each of these heads has to be chopped off.  (Wisdom through the Eyes of Nimishananda)

If we wish to be happy, we must unclutter our house — the house of our heart. We must throw out all the joy-killers, the negative thoughts of greed, ill will, jealousy, malice and envy. But throwing these out is not enough – we must fill our minds with happy thoughts – thoughts of prayer, love, kindness, prosperity and peace. (Dada J P Vaswani)

You know why anger, greed, jealousy, lust, etc are impure? It is because they do not allow the Self to shine through. (Sri Sri Ravi Shankar)

All the creatures of the world, steeped in lust and greed, and engrossed in thoughts on the ways and means of securing their worldly ambitions, are quickly consumed by Thee (Rudra Shiva), the un-winking and watchful spirit of Time, as a hungry serpent might swallow a rat that it comes upon. (Rudra Gita)

Himsa or Violence

Violence may have the appearance of strength, but it is born out of fear and is therefore a sign of weakness. Only he can be truly non-violent who has conquered fear. (Gandhiji)

Through Adharma (evil), Himsa (Violence) gave birth to two children dishonesty (or wickedness) and Falsehood. Dishonesty gave birth to fear and hell. Falsehood gave birth to Maya (illusion) and pain. Maya gave birth to Death and Pain gave birth to Misery and Sickness. Then Sickness gave birth to Old age, grief, anger and jealousy. All these are remembered as the characteristics of Adharma (evil). (Brahmanda Purana)

Virtues, like ahimsa, truthfulness, cleanliness, compassion and faith in the Lord should be consistently cultivated. (Narada Bhakti Sutra)

Kindness and compassion towards all, in thought, word and deed. This is ahimsa, or non-injury. Be a cosmic benefactor, having ceaseless love for all, even to the least of God’s creatures. Be a center of peace and happiness to all. (Swami Chinmayananda)

Feel of superiority

Why do you have to compare yourself with others? Just play your life's role without an air of superiority or inferiority. (Swami Parthasarathy) 

Humility is a step to the Infinite: for to be humble is to be linked with the Lord! (Sadhu Vaswani)

If you have true humility and earnestness to see God, he will solve all your doubts and show you God in no time at all. (Jagadguru Sri Chandrasekhara Bharati)

Humility brings harmony. A humble person is integrated with reality and is happy, because humility brings happiness. (Mother Meera)

I am (Bhagavan Sri Krishna) is always present wherever the Brahman, truthfulness, self-control, purity, dharma, humility, prosperity, fortitude and forgiveness exist. (Mahabharata)


Excess of pride, excess in speech, excess in eating, anger, the desire of enjoyment and intestine dissensions, O King, are the six sharp swords that cut off the period of life allotted to creatures. It is these which kill men, and not death. Knowing this, blessed be you! (Vidura in the Mahabharata)

Our attachments lend a false beauty to things; blinded with the pride of possession, we often fail to see the ugliness of cherished possessions. (Swami Chinmayananda)

The mighty army of Maya pervades the world. Her generals are lust and other kindred evils; her warriors are pride, hypocrisy and heresy. (Ramayana)

He who is stiff with pride and does not bend should be considered as the abode of ignorance. (Sant Dnyaneshwar)

We should know when to reject and renounce them. Anger, desire, greed, delusion, haughtiness and pride obstruct our effort to concentrate on God. We should learn to tackle them with dispassion (Vairagya) and discrimination (Viveka). When we feel our ego rising, we should think of Ravana or Hiranyakasipu and the fate they met because of their self esteem and pride. (Swami Gautamananda)