Skip to main content


Hindu Calendar – February 21, 2018 – Tithi – Vrat - Good Time – Fasting – Nakshatra – Rashi – Hindu Festivals

Tithi in Hindu Calendar on Wednesday, February 21, 2018 – Shukla Paksha Sashti Tithi or the sixth day during the waxing or light phase of moon inHindu calendar and Panchang in most regions. It is Shukla Paksha Panchami Tithi or the fifth day during the waxing or light phase of moon till 2:25 AM on February 21. Then onward it is Shukla Paksha Sashti Tithi or the sixth day during the waxing or light phase of moon till 1:07 AM on February 22. All time based on India Standard Time.
Good – Auspicious time on February 21, 2018, as per Hindu Calendar – Good and auspicious time on the entire day. Nakshatra – Ashwathy or Ashwini Nakshatram till 11:51 AM on February 21. Then onward it is Bharani Nakshatra till 11:04 AM on February 22.
In western parts of India (Maharashtra, Gujarat, Goa and south Rajasthan), Ashwathy or Ashwini Nakshatram till 2:01 PM on February 21. Then onward it is Bharani Nakshatra till 1:34 PM on February 22.
Rashi or Moon Sign – Mesha Rashi till 4:46 PM on February 22.
In w…

Mesha Rashi Lucky Number

What is the lucky number of Mesh Rashi born people? The benefits of lucky number include progress and change in luck. Mesha rashi lucky number is eight.

The people born in the rashi should be buy car, bike or scooter having number eight in it or when added the total should be eight.

Buying shop number 8 is good for the Rashi people. Similarly, buying flat or plot having number 8 is good.

Having mobile number with number 8 is good for the people.

Lighting eight-wick lamp on birthday is good for Mesha Rashi.

Make a garland of eight peepal leaves and offer it to Hanuman to overcome all forms of troubles in life.

Sheetala Saptami 2018 date

Sheetala Saptami Puja is observed on the previous day of Sheetala Ashtami and is observed during the Chaitra month and also during Shravan month. Sheetala Saptami 2018 date in Chaitra month is March 8. The day is dedicated to Goddess Sheetala Mata and is observed on the seventh day during the waning phase of moon in Chaitra month (March – April) and during the waxing phase of moon the month of Shravan (July – August). Goddess Sheetla Devi is worshipped to protect children and to escape from disease like Chicken Pox.

The day is of great importance in rural regions in India. Thousands of devotees visit the temple dedicated to Sheetla Mata. Some people do ‘mundan’ – complete removal of hair from head. Some people perform various rituals for a happy and peaceful life.

In some regions on Sheetala Saptami day people eat only food prepared on the previous day.
It must be noted that Sheetala Saptami is observed during the 7th day of fortnight in Chaitra, Vaishakh, Jyeshta, Ashada and Shravan…

Tukaram Beej 2018 Date - Sant Tukaram Maharaj Death Anniversary

Sant Tukaram Beej is the death anniversary of Sant Tukaram, one of the greatest exponents of the Bhakti cult in Maharashtra. Sant Tukaram Beej 2018 date is March 3. It is observed on the second day of the Krishna Paksha (waning phase of moon) in the Falgun or Phalugna month (February – March) as per traditional Marathi calendar.

VithobaTemple at DehuVillage in Maharashtra is the birth place of Sant Tukaram Maharaj and thousands of people pay respect to Siant Tukaram here on the day.

It is popularly believed that Sant Tukaram left his physical body on the forenoon of the second day (Dwitiya) in Falgun Krishna paksha (waxing phase of moon on Falgun month) in 1650 AD.

Sant Tukaram is guru to millions of people around the world and people take inspiration from his poems and teachings.

Devotees believe that Sant Tukaram left for Vaikunta on Garuda on this day. A tree on the premises of the temple shakes at noon time even today on the Tukaram Beej day. Thousands of arrive on the day to Dehu…

Goddess Lakshmi Worship for Mental Peace

There is a widespread belief that Goddess Lakshmi is associated with money, gold and richness. This is not true. True happiness and true richness on earth is for those who have mental peace. A person who is able to enjoy heaven on earth has the true blessings of Goddess Lakshmi. Maa Laxmi should be worshipped for mental peace. When a person is at peace, prosperity will follow him.Only a calm and serene might can produce good work.Creativity and original ideas come to a mind that is at peace.The toughest problems are solved when there is peace.A turbulent mind is unproductive.It creates rift, fights and problems in relationships.Lack of peace leads to anger and anger only opens the doors of destruction.Mental peace can dissolve ego, anger, desires, lust and unwanted thoughts.When the mind is at peace, even porridge can satisfy you but when the mind is agitated, even a feast fit for a king will not satisfy you. If the mind is not at peace you cannot enjoy wealth and richness.Therefore w…

Ugadi 2018 date – Telugu and Kannada New Year - Ugadi in Andhra Pradesh – Telangana and Karnataka in 2018

Ugadi date based on Hindu calendar in Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, and Telangana. Ugadi is the New Year (Lunar New Year) for Telugu and Kannada speaking people and it ushers in the spring season. Ugadi 2018 date is March 18. Vilambi Nama Samvatsara begins on March 18, 2018. In USA, Canada and UK, it is marked on March 18. In Australia, Malaysia and Singapore it is on March 18. Ugadi (yuga and adi) means beginning of an astronomical cycle.

First Month of the Year

Ugadi is also the first day of Chaitra, the first month of the traditional Hindu calendar followed in Telangana, Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka. Ugadi is also known as Chadramana Ugadi or Chandramana Varsha Thodaku or Vatsara Arambha.

Vilambi Nama Samvatsara begins from March 18. Shalivahana Sakaa year - 1940 begins on March 18.

Ugadi has its derivation from the word ‘Yugadi’ which consists of two terms ‘Yuga’ and ‘adi,’ which respectively means ‘cycle of time’ and ‘beginning’.

Rituals on Ugadi
For the Telugu and Kannada speaking p…

Iccha – Desire in Hinduism

As per teachings in Hinduism, Iccha or desire is one of the basic qualities of the human mind. Here is a brief understanding of Iccha – desire as per Hindu religious philosophy and teaching. Iccha is the first reason behind the first creation - the desire of the Supreme Truth.It is the root cause of all activities.Along with knowledge and effort, desire is one of the three aspects that proceed before the performance of any action.Iccha Shakti of Bhagavan is eternal. The iccha shakti of all other living beings in temporal.Desire is the direct cause of action.Iccha is not a negative force.Natural desires are necessary for a living being to survive on earth.Desire becomes dangerous when living being moves away from the basic surviving mode. Desire to quench thirst, have food, sleep etc is natural. But the desire to accumulate, possess, control etc are negative.Negative desires are the result of the wrong belief that individual soul separate from the Supreme Truth.When the veil of ignoran…