--> Skip to main content

Brahma Purana Quotes - Brief Note On The Contents Of Brahma Purana

A collection of quotes from Brahma Purana.

The wise man overcomes anger through mind control, lust through the renunciation of desire. He can attain mastery over sleep by developing the quality of ‘sattva.’ Through steadfastness he should protect the organ of generation and the stomach. With the eyes he should protect the hands and feet. Through mind he should protect the eyes and the ears and through conduct he should protect mind and speech. Through constant vigilance he should shed fear and through the service of the wise he should overcome pride.

Brahma Purana (235. 40-42)

Brief Note on the Contents of Brahma Purana

Brahma Purana is the first of the eighteen Puranas. Only the Patala Khanda of Padma Purana suggests that Padma Puran was written before Brahma Purana.

As per all scholars associated with Puranas, Brahma Purana is the earliest of the eighteen Puranas.

Brahma Purana is known as Adi Purana (first Purana). Balambhatta refers to it as Adi Purana in his commentary of the Mitakshara.

Brahma Purana is also known as Saura Purana as parts of it is dedicated to worship of Surya – Sun God in Hinduism.

It is generally agreed that the Brahma Purana consists of 10,000 stanzas.

Brahma Purana has an Uttara Khanda which some scholars believe was attached later on.

Brahma Purana begins by addressing to Vishnu and thus it is considered to be a Vaishnava scripture. Some people also refer it to as a text associated with Shakta worship.

Brahma Purana was first narrated on earth to human beings at Naimisharanya by Lomaharshana, disciple of Sage Vyasa.

It was originally narrated by Brahma to Daksha (this is as per Brahma Purana). But as per Matsya Purana, Brahma Purana was first narrated by Brahma to Marichi.

The first chapter clearly states that the universe was created by Narayana (Vishnu).

The second chapter details the birth of first Manu Swayambhuva and his wife Satarupa and the birth of their descendants. The chapter is also dedicated to daughters of Daksha and their husband Kashyapa and the birth of various creatures.

The third chapter records the history of Prithu.

The fourth give gives an account of the fourteen manvantaras.

The next fifteen chapters are dedicated to origin of Vaivasvata Manu, his descendants, solar dynasty, Vajranabha etc.