--> Skip to main content

The 24 Temples Participating In Arattupuzha Pooram

Sree Sastha Temple at Arattupuzha in Thrissur is believed to be more than 3000 years old and is renowned for the annual festival called Arattupuzha Pooram – the festival is known as Devamela as 23 temples from the area visit and pay obeisance to Sri Sastha worshipped in the temple. Here is the list of 24 temples participating in the Arattupuzha Pooram.

  1. Arattupuzha Sastha
  2. Triprayar Thevar
  3. Urakam Ammathiruvadi
  4. Cherpu Bhagavathy
  5. Chathakudam Sastha
  6. Thiruvullakkavu Sastha
  7. Anthikkad Bhagavathi
  8. Thottippal Bhagavathy
  9. Pisharikkal Bhagavathy
  10. Edakkunny Bhagawathi
  11. Ayyunnu Bhagawathi
  12. Thaikkattussery Bhagavathy
  13. Kaduppassery Bhagavathi
  14. Choorakode Bhagavathi
  15. Poonilarkkavil Bhagavathi
  16. Chalakudy Pisharikkal Bhagavathy
  17. Chakkamkulangara Sastha
  18. Kodannur Sastha
  19. Namkulam Sastha
  20. Maattil Sastha
  21. Nettissery Sastha
  22. Kalleli Sastha
  23. Chitti Chathakudam Sastha
  24. Medamkulam Sastha

Arattupuzha Pooram is known as the mother of all poorams. The evening prior to the last day of the festival is when Sasthavinte Melam takes place. This ceremony is marked by caparisoned elephants and scintillating performances of percussion ensembles like the Panchari Melam and Pandimelam. Kootti Ezhunnallippu or Devasangamam of 23 participating deities is another spectacular event of Arattupuzha.