--> Skip to main content

Thirumittakode Anchumoorthi Temple – Divya Desham And Shiva Temple

Thirumittakode Anchumoorthi temple is located at Thirumittacode, 5 km south of Pattambi, in Palakkad district, Kerala. The main deities worshipped in the temple are Shiva and Vishnu. The temple is one among the 108 Divya Desams. The temple is also one among the 108 Shiva temples in Kerala. The shrine lies on the banks of Bharathapuzha River. The river flows on the east and north side of the temple. Shivaratri is an important festival in the temple.

There is a single Shivling and four murtis of Vishnu Bhagavan. Anchu in Malayalam means five and as the temple has fiver murtis the temple is known as Anchu Moorthy.

The main murti of Vishnu worshipped here is in standing posture. The Vishnu temple is known as Abhaya Pradhan Temple or Uyyavantha Perumal Temple.

The Upa Devatas worshipped in the temple are Ganapathy, Dakshinamurti, Ayyappa, Veda Vyasa and Bhagavathi.

As per history, the temple was built by Kulasekara Alwar – ardent devotee of Vishnu. Later when Cholas came to power they built a Shiva temple here.

As per local belief the Shivling was consecrated by Parashurama. Another belief is that a Brahmin had gone to Kashi from here and when he returned Kashi Vishwanatha came along with him and the deity was consecrated here.

The Vishnu murti in the temple was consecrated by Arjuna of Mahabharata. It is believed that the initial temple was built by Pandavas during their exile period. Another legend has it that King Ambareesha who was an ardent devotee of Vishnu got moksha here.

The shrine of Shiva is located in the front and therefore one can have darshan of Bhagavan Vishnu only after offering prayers to Shiva.

The temple also has the presence of Brahma.

he temple is famous for performing various rites similar to those performed in Kashi.