--> Skip to main content

Symbolism Of Five Offerings In Hindu Pujas And Rituals

A simple Hindu pujas and rituals include five offerings to the God or Goddess worshipped in Hinduism. Simple acts have deep hidden meaning and symbolism in Hinduism. The five offerings in a daily puja in Hindu religion includes water, sandal paste or perfume, flowers, incense and lit lamp.

  1. Water represents the water element
  2. Perfume, or sandal paste or saffron or bhashma or musk represents the earth element
  3. Flowers represents the aksasha or space
  4. Incense represents vayu
  5. A lit lamp represents tejas or the fire element.

Thus the basic simple offering of five puja items represent the five elements.

Apart from this the sweets offered during puja represent jiva.