--> Skip to main content


Showing posts from September 14, 2020

Symbolism Of 14 year Exile In Hinduism - Mahabharata And Ramayana

This article looks at the symbolism of 14 year exile in Hinduism especially in the most popular epics Mahabharata and Ramayana. Patanjali has laid down three conditions for getting established in the practice of self control: ‘It must be done for a long time without break and with dedication.’  Once having attained stability or perfection in practice with these three conditions, the yogi does not get unsettled even unknowingly. It is quite understandable that one has to practice a task, be it meditation, singing, dancing or even playing cricket for a long time to become an expert, to get established. Here Patanjali has not mentioned any specific time, but it is generally understood that unless practice is done for at least 12 years, one cannot get established in it. It is significant in this context to note that Rama was banished for 14 years and the Pandavas were asked to live in the forest for 12 years. The idea was that if they did so, they would no more remain in essenc

Bhadra Yoga

Bhadra Yoga is one of the pancha mahapurusha yogas reckoned in the very important planetary combinations in predictive astrology. Bhadra yoga is constituted when the planet Buddha (mercury) occupies a Kendra (quadrant house) from the ascendant (first house) in the natal chart, which must be in its own mulatrikona or exalted sign. Since Mercury owns Gemini (Mithuna) and Virgo (Kanya) signs and gets mulatrikona strength and exaltation in Kanya Rashi, the presence of this planet in a Kendra house (first, fourth, seventh, tenth) in the natal chart from the lagna (first house) in these two sings constitutes the celebrated bhadra yoga. According to some texts, the yoga will be more effective if Mercury happens to be in Virgo since that is its mulatrikona and exaltation   sign too, apart from being its own sign. Ownership, mulatrikona, and occupation of exaltation signs indicate the potency of the planet in ascending order. According to some other classical texts, even if Budh

Brahma Jnana In Hindu Religion - The Knowledge Of God

Brahma Jnana is the knowledge of Brahman, the Supreme Reality – one without a second, in the Hindu philosophical system (in common parlance God). Brahma Jnanam is gained from the three fundamental texts (prasthana trayi) – Brahmasutra, Upanishads and Bhagavad Gita. The mahavakyas (great aphoristic statements) in Upanishads briefly express the concept of Brahman, such as Brahman is reality, knowledge and infinite. The relationship between the supreme Brahman and the individual self is pointed out as “Thou art That” – (Tat Tvam Asi). Brahman is the both the efficient and the material cause of the universe. It is omniscient, omnipotent and omnipresent. All the creations in the universe are produced from it and get merged into it. Thus the entire universe, along with the sentient and non-sentient beings in it, is a manifestation of the Brahman. Though it is one, it is beheld as manifold. The concept of the identity of the individual self with the supreme Brahman is the ultimate a

Chitra Nakshatra date and time 2021– Chithirai or Chithira Birth Star dates in 2021

Chitra Nakshatra 2021 dates based on traditional Hindu calendar, Astrology and Panchangam. Chitra Birth Star, also known as Chithirai in South India, is the 14th Nakshatra among the 27 Nakshatras. Below are Chitra Nakshatra dates in 2021. The astrological prediction of the birth star Chitra as per Moon Sign is that of Kanya Rashi (Virgo Zodiac) and Thula Rashi (Libra Zodiac). The first half of Chitra Kanya Rashi and the next half is on Tula Rashi. Budha or Mercury is the Lord of the Kanya Rasi and Venus or Shukra the Lord of Tula. The color of Chitra is black. Chitra Nakshatra Date and Time 2021 - North - East - South of India This time is applicable in Delhi, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Chhattisgarh, Orissa, West Bengal, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Pondicherry, Jammu and Kashmir, Manipur, Tripura, Assam, Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Mizoram and Andaman and Nic

Selfless Service - Essential Part Of Spiritual Life

Selfless service is an essential part of spiritual life. If we want to know how much spiritually we have advanced; then find out how much unselfish we have become. When we are on the path of inner growth, we naturally outgrow our narrow thoughts. When we are able to do our little to alleviate the suffering of another living being, we are getting an inch closer to self realization. The one suffering and the one helping is the same truth. True selfless love does not expect anything in return. It is like doing something essential for ourselves. We do not thank ourselves after doing something for our physical maintenance. True selfless service encompasses helping not just humanity but all animate. Helping animals and plant is part of selfless service. We become a complete human being when we love and serve living beings without any expectation.  We should never carry the load of selfless service. Forget it the moment you have finished a service and quickly move on t