--> Skip to main content

Three Divisions of Vedas - Simple Knowledge

The three divisions of Vedas are Samhita – Brahmana and Aranyaka.

Samhita are inspired verses or mantras – They emanate from the realm of pure consciousness. They are revealed by the divinity through the medium of illumined souls. The aim of Samhita is universal wellbeing.

Brahmanas are commentaries in prose. They deal with the rituals.

Aranyakas are forest treatises – they are spiritual and speculative in nature.

Upanishads are part of Samhitas, Brahmanas and Aranyakas. They contain fearless enquiry and intuitive observations.