--> Skip to main content

Five Special Rites Performed before Sodasopachara

Sodasopachara is the 16 Steps or Rituals in a Hindu Puja. As per Gantamiya Tantra, five special rites should be performed before commencing Sodasopachara. They are:

Abhigamana – Going to a place of worship.
Upadana – Collecting materials for puja.
Yoga – Developing a feeling of oneness with the deity.
Svadhyaya – Reading or chanting of sacred books.
Ijya – Worship of deity as per Shastras.