--> Skip to main content

Raga Kalpadruma – Sangita Raga Kalpadruma

Sangita Raga Kalpadruma is a unique work on classical music compiled by Pandit Krishnananda Vyasa (1795 – 1889),  son of Hirakananda Vyasa of Udaipur.

Raga Kalpadruma has five major topics:
  • Swara
  • Raga
  • Tala
  • Vadya and
  • Rasa
Though the author wrote many volumes, he could publish only four.

Three volumes have been published by the Bangiya Sahitya Parishad and another three by Bharat Kala Bhavan (of the Banaras Hindu University) in Devanagiri script.

About 16,000 ragas and ten talas are mentioned and the raga ragini concept, uparagas, day and night distinction for presentation of ragas, etc, are dealt with in the text.

In the chapter on dance, Tandava and Lasya, margi and desi types are discussed.

Sangita Raga Kalpadruma is a major text on classical music which details several technical aspects.

Rajas of Indian Classical Music (1989) Anupam Mahajan – Gyan Books New Delhi
History of Indian Music (1960) Sambamurthy P – The Indian Music Publishing House
Sangita Raga Kalpadruma Encyclopedia of Indian Music Vol I – II (2006) Nagandra Nath Vastu – Saujanaya Books New Delhi