Skip to main content

Navadanya for Navgrahas – the Nine Grains Used in Hindu Rituals – Navadhanya

Navadhanya are the nine grains that are offered to the Navgrahas. They are also part of other Hindu pujas and rituals. The Navadanya includes Bengal Gram, Wheat, Horse Gram, Green Gram, Rice, White beans, Black Seasame seeds, Chic Peas, Black Gram.
Bengal Gram is offered to Jupiter or Guru or Brihaspati.

Wheat is offered to Sun or Surya

Horse Gram is offered to Ketu

Green Gram is offered to Mercury or Budh

Rice is offered to moon or Chandra or Soma

White beans is offered to Venus or Shukra

Black Sesame is offered to Shani or Saturn

Chic peas or Chickpea is offered to Mars or Mangal

Black Gram is offered to Rahu

In some regions the Navadanya are rice, wheat, thoor dal, moong dal, chana dal, rajma, sesame, urud dal, horse gram.
You may also like to read