--> Skip to main content

Ashtalakshmi – Eight forms of Goddess Lakshmi

In Hinduism, Goddess Lakshmi, the goddess of wealth and fortune, is worshipped in eight forms – Ashta-Lakshmi. The eight forms of the Goddess Lakshmi vary from region to region. The most popular widely accepted forms are those found in the Shri Ashtalakshmi Stotram. The eight forms of Lakshmi are:
  • Dhanalakshmi (One who showers wealth)
  • Dhanyalakshmi (Food – one who eliminates hunger)
  • Gajalakshmi (Power and Strength)
  • Santan Lakshmi (Children)
  • Veera Lakshmi (Courage and Strength)
  • Vijaya Lakshmi (Victory)
  • Vidya Lakshmi (Wisdom and knowledge)
Other forms of Lakshmi that are included in the Ashtalakshmi list include –
  • Aishwarya Lakshmi (Prosperity)
  • Bhagya Lakshmi (Luck)
  • Vaibhav Lakshmi (Success)
  • Vara Lakshmi (Giver of boons)
  • Saubhagya (Fortune)
  • Rajya Lakshmi (Who blesses rulers)
Veera Lakshmi, which is part of the widely accepted list, is also known as Dhairya Lakshmi. Similarly, Vijaya Lakshmi is also known as Jaya Lakshmi.
There are also several other manifestations of Goddess Lakshmi which is limited to a particular region.
It must be also noted here that the term Mahalakshmi is widely used when Goddess Lakshmi is referred to as the consort of Lord Vishnu.