Skip to main content


Showing posts from February 15, 2017

Shivratri Puja Vidhi in Hindi

Shivratri Puja Vidhi is an edited version of the Hindi Shivratri Puja Vidhi provided by Gurutva Jyothish Kariayalaya. The most important puja is performed at night at a Shiva temple or at home.

People perform Shivratri Puja on the day for peace, prosperity, material wealth and spiritual wealth.
The popular belief is that Shiva married Goddess Parvati on the day.
Shivratri Puja Vidhi in Hindi शिवरात्रि के प्रदोष काल में शिवलिंग को जल और बिल्वपत्र समर्पित करेंगौघृत का दीपक करें, चंदन से धूप करें, सफेद कनेर के फूल चढ़ाएंअक्षत समर्पित करेंभसम अर्पित करेंसफ़ेद खीर समर्पित करें'ॐ नमः शिवाय'' मंत्र  १०८ बार जप करें 

Satya Yuga in Hinduism – the first of four Yugas in Hindu Religion

Satya Yuga in Hinduism is the golden age. It is the first of four yugas in a Kalpa as per cosmogony in Hindu religion. A kalpa is divided in Satya, Treta, Dwapara and Kali. Satya Yuga is also known as Krita Yuga.

Satya Yuga is 4,800 years of gods. A year of god is equal to 360 years of man. Satya Yuga lasts for 1.728 million years.

In Satya Yuga, Dharma is in full strength.

Age of an average human being is 400 years.

The main form of worship is Tapas – intense meditation on the Supreme Truth.

As per Vayu Purana, the main deity worshipped during the Yuga is Brahma.

As Dharma is followed, there is no inequality. There is only peace and prosperity in Satya Yuga.

Related Hindu Concept of the Beginning and End of Universe

Sons of Ganesha - Shubha and Labha in Hinduism

In Hinduism, Shubh is ‘auspiciousness’ and Labh is ‘Profit.’ In some Hindu traditions, Shubha and Labha are the sons of Ganesha.

In some Hindu traditions, Ganesh has two wives named Riddhi (material wealth) and Siddhi (intellectual and spiritual wealth). Ganesha has two sons named Shubh and Labh in Riddhi and Siddhi.

Please note that some Hindu traditions do not follow the above said concept.

It is believed that writing the name of Shubh and Labh along with Ganesha will help in achieving peace and progress in life.

Shubh and Labh is worshipped by business people and shopkeepers for progress.

Related Goddess Santhoshi Mata - daughter of Ganesha

Teacher of Kabirdas – Who was the teacher or Guru of Sant Kabir?

Sant Kabir was a poet saint and one of the four major poets of Bhakti Kala of Hindi literature. Kabirdas believed in one supreme god. His teacher, or Guru, was Ramananda, a Vaishnava Saint.

Kabir advocated human values such as non-violence, equality, complete devotion to the deity, courage to speak the truth, simplicity in conduct and life.
He believed in nirguna Brahman – absolute reality without attributes – of the Upanishads and asserted that Brahman alone is the ultimate self, who is variously called Rama or Allah.

Shatabhisha Nakshatra Tree – Which is the tree associated with Shatataraka birth star Born People?

There are trees associated with each 27 nakshatrams or birth stars. Shatabhisha Nakshatra also has a particular tree dedicated to it. People born on each nakshatra should worship the particular tree. The tree associated and worshipped by Shatataraka Nakshatra Born People is kadam or Kadampa 
Hindi name of the Shatabhisha Nakshatra Tree is Kadam  Telugu name is Rudrakskamba Malayalam name is Kadampa or Attutek Tamil Name is Vellaikkatampu Kannada name is Kaduavalatige In Marathi it is known as Kadamba Bengali name is Kadam
Shatabhisha Nakshatra born people should plant the Kadam or Kadampa . Water it. They should also protect the tree.

Tripurmalini Mata Mandir – Goddess Tripurmalini Temple at Jalandhar

Tripurmalini Mata Mandir at Jalandhar in Punjab, India, is dedicated to Goddess Tripurmalini. The temple is counted among the 51 Shaktipeetahs. It is believed that the left breast of Goddess Sati fell here (You can read the story of Sati here). Lord Shiva is worshipped here as Bheeshan.

The popular belief is that offering prayers will help couples in their quest for parenthood. It is an important Shakti Shrine, which practices numerous rare Shakti pujas, mantras and rituals.
The ancient temple has been completely renovated. There is a huge tank in the temple complex. The temple has another name – Devi Talab Mandir – it is associated with the temple tank.
The temple is also famous for a shrine dedicated to Goddess Kali and for a replica of the famous Amarnath Cave in Jammu and Kashmir.

Life’s Purpose – Quotes from Hindu Scriptures and Teachers

Brahman is the end of the journey. Brahman is the supreme goal. This Brahman, this Self, deep-hidden in all beings, is not revealed to all; but to seers, pure in heart, concentrated in mind – to them is He revealed. (Katha Upanishad 1:3:12)

The ascent to the divine life is the human journey, the work of works, the acceptable sacrifice. This alone is man’s real business in the world and the justification of his existence. (Sri Aurobindo)
Travel light on your journey in life. Your desires and expectations are heavy baggage, which slow you down and thwart your progress. Let them go. (Swami Chidanand Saraswati)

Today’s Hindu Calendar – February 15, 2017 – Tithi, Vrat, Good Time, Nakshatra, Rashi and Festival

Tithi in Hindu Calendar on Wednesday, February 15, 2017 (Today) – Krishna Paksha Panchami Tithi or the fifth day during the waning phase of moon inHindu calendar and Panchang in most regions. It is Krishna Paksha Chaturthi Tithi or the fourth day during the waning phase of moon till 6:00 AM on Feb 15. Then onward it is Krishna Paksha Panchami Tithi or the fifth day during the waning phase of moon till 7:16 AM on Feb 16. All time based on India Standard Time.
How is February 15, 2017 as per Hindu Panchang? – It is not a good date. Nakshatra – Hasta or Atham Nakshatram till 11:47 AM on Feb 15. Then onward it is Chitra or Chithirai or Chithira Nakshatram till 1:40 PM on Feb 16.
In western parts of India (Maharashtra, Gujarat, Goa and south Rajasthan), it is Hasta or Atham Nakshatra till 11:32 AM on Feb 15. Then onward it is Chitra or Chithirai or Chithira Nakshatram till 1:41 PM on Feb 16.
Rashi or Moon Sign – Kanya Rashi.
In western parts of India (Maharashtra, Gujarat, Goa and south Raja…