--> Skip to main content

Ekatala - One of the Suladi Sapta Talas

Ekatala is one of the suladi sapta talas (beats in music). This consists of only one laghu as its anga.
Ekatala has 14 aksharas (syllables).

Tala system (system of rhythmic cycles), through very complex, is mathematically calculated, making it easy to understand.

There are seven basic types of talas. Each tala comprises one or more of three angas or components:
Laghu, a clap and finger count;

Drutam, a clap and a wave;
Anudrutam, a clap

The seven talas are
  1. Dhruva (one laghu, one drutam and two laghus)
  2. Matya (one laghu, one drutam and one laghu)
  3. Rupaka (one drutam and one laghu)
  4. Jampa (one laghu, one anudrutam, and one drutam)
  5. Triputa (one laghu and two drutams)
  6. Ata (two laghus and two drutams)
  7. Eka (one laghu)
Four Major rhythms used in Indian classical music are
  1. Tintala (16 beats)
  2. Ekatala (12 beats)
  3. Jhaptala (10 beats)
  4. Rupaka (7 beats)
The most common rhythms used in light Indian classical music are:
Kaharba (8 beats)
Dadara (6 beats)

Ekatala is one of the most common rhythms used in Indian classical music (vocal, instrumental and dance music) with all different layas (tempos). There are many versions in different garanas (schools of music in India).

Ekatala is in 12 matras (beats) divided into 2+2+2+2+2+2 and, in another way, into 3+3+3+3.

One of the most famous ektala thekas (main cycle) is

Dhin Dhin Dha Ge Te Re Ke Te Tun Na
Kat Ta Dha Ge Te Re Ke Te Dhin Na