Skip to main content


Showing posts from November 16, 2015

Six Faces of Lord Muruga

In his Virat form, or Vishwaroopam, Muruga is one with six faces and twelve arms. This form is also known as Arumugan. Here is the story, significance and symbolism of the six faces of Lord Muruga. Lord Muruga, also known as Skanda, Subrahamaniya and Kartik, was born as six different babies to Lord Shiva. Six Krittika stars or natchathirams looked after the six babies.

When Goddess Parvati found the six babies, she hugged them, and they became one. He then came to be known as Arumugan – the one with six faces and twelve arms.

There are numerous symbolism regarding the six heads of Muruga.

It is believed that the six faces of Muruga represents five elements – ether, fire, water, earth, air – and the sixth the sprit that infuses life into the beings formed by the elements.

Some scholars especially those associated with yoga states that the six heads represents the six centers with the human body – six chakras.

Nakkirar in his Tirumurugatruppadai (A classic book of the Sangam Age) stat…

Story of Muruga Defeating Demon Soorapadman

Demon Soorapadman attained the boon that only a son born of Shiva will kill him. Lord Shiva had gone into deep meditation after death of Goddess Sati. The demon had thought that Shiva would never return to earthly life. The story of Muruga defeating demon Soorapadman is found in the Skanda Purana.

After getting the boon, demons under the leadership of Soorapadma, Simhamukha and Tarakasura defeated the Devas and took over the earth. They found immense pleasure in torturing the Devas and humans. They went on a massive rampage and destroyed anything that belonged to the Devas.

On the advice of Lord Brahma, Devas took the help of Kamdev or Manmatha in bringing back Shiva into worldly life. The child that was born was Muruga.
Before going into the battle against Soorapadman, Shiva gave eleven weapons (eleven manifestations of Rudra), and Goddess Parvati gave the Vel or Spear to Muruga.  Vel, or sacred spear, is the weapon associated with Muruga.

During the first five days of the battle,…

Six Abodes of Lord Muruga in Tamil Nadu – Arupadai Veedu

Arupadai Veedu (aaru-padai-veedu) or ‘six-army-houses’ are the six temples dedicated to Muruga in Tamil Nadu which depicts Muruga as a warrior-god. It is also known as Thirumurugatrupadai. The temples are located atop six sacred hills and dates back to the 2nd century.

The six abodes of Lord Muruga are:
Thiruparankundram Temple - Located in Madurai. It is believed that Lord Muruga married Devasena here. Muruga stands in the form of groom - Kalyana Muruga.
Thiruchendur Murugan Temple - Only Arupadai Veedu not on a hill. It is located on the beach of Bay of Bengal. Muruga Vanquished Soorapadman here.
Palani Murugan Temple - Muruga is worshipped here as Dandayuthapani - an ascetic boy holding dandam or staff.
Swamimalai Murugan Temple -Located near Kumbakonam. Muruga is here worshipped as the teacher of Shiva. Muruga explained the meaning of Pranava mantra to Shiva here.
Thiruttani Murugan Temple - Muruga cooled himself down here after defeating Soorapadman. Muruga also married Valli here.

Makaram Pathu in Kerala

Makaram Pathu is the 10th day in Makara Masam (January – February) in a traditional solar calendar followed in Kerala. The day is of great importance in many temples across Kerala. Makaram Pathu 2019 date is January 24.

Some temples in Kerala observe the annual temple festival on the day. Pooram is organized in many small temples in North Kerala.
The day is of significance at Narayanakulangara temple and Palayur Kavadiyattu Bhagavathi temple.

Mannam Jayanthi

Mannam jayanthi is the birth anniversary of Mannathu Padmanabhan (January 2, 1878 - February 25, 1970). He was a freedom fighter, social reformer and founder of NSS (Nair Services Society). Mannam Jayanthi is annually observed on January 2. In 2019, it is the 140th birth anniversary of Mannathu Padmanabha Pillai.

To uplift the status of the Nair community in Kerala, he established Nair Service Society in 1914. He revived the Karayogams, village societies, which led to more unity among the Nair community.

He fought for social equality by opening his family temple to irrespective of caste. He fought against untouchablity by participating in the famous Vaikom Satyagraha and Guruvayur Temple entry.

He was one of the architects of the famous Vimochana Samaram, which led to the ouster of the first communist ministry in Kerala in 1959.
He helped in founding numerous colleges and schools across the state.

Ghanteshwar Mahadev – About Ghanteshwar Form of Shiva - 57th Shiva Temple in Ujjain

Ghanteshwar Mahadev is worshiped in Ujjain in Madhya Pradesh. It is one of the 84 forms of Shiva worshiped in Ujjain. It is believed that worshipping Ghanteshwar Form of Shiva will make a person expert in music.

The temple dedicated to Ghanteshwar Mahadev is located at Kartik Chowk.

This form of Shiva is associated with a Shiva Gana named Ghanta.

Ghanteshwar Mahadev is counted among the 84 Shiva Temples in Ujjain and it is the 57th temple visited during the parikarama of Shiavalayas here.

Story of Ghanteshwar Mahadev Ghanta was one of the favorite Ganas of Shiva. This fact was disclosed by Shiva to Goddess Parvati. Ghanta was a good singer. Once Ghanta wanted to visit the court of Brahma. But he could not do it due to various reasons.

Therefore, he waited outside the court for a year. Narada informed Shiva that Ghanta was waiting outside court of Brahma and was not attending to his duties.

Shiva then cursed Ghanta that a person who attempts to serve two masters at a time will have a f…

Thiruppunavasal Temple near Rameswaram – Natural Shivling Worshipped Here is Growing

Thiruppunavasal Temple at Rameswaram is dedicated to Lord Shiva. A unique aspect of the Shivling worshipped here is that it is growing. The Swayambhu Shivling is also one of the biggest naturally occurring Shivlings inside a Shiva Temple. Another unique aspect of the shrine is that Goddess Durga is viewed through a mirror as she is in a fierce form.

Tiruppunavasal is mentioned in the Thevaram. The place was known as Indrapuram during Krita Yuga, Brahmapuram in Tretha Yuga and Vrithakasi in Dwapara Yuga.

Ten holy tanks, named Indra, Ganga, Brahma, Lakshmi, Surya, Chandra, Chakra, Sarpa (serpent), Kalyana and Varuna, can be found in the temple complex.
The Sthala Vriksha is Punnai.

Gurumaa Quotes

Meditation is not a state where you are fighting with your thoughts, where you are fighting with your memories, where you are fighting with your urges or your bodily sensations. When all modifications, all fluctuations of the mind are gone – now that is, the state of meditation. Meditation cannot be done, it happens. It is an effortless effort wherein you take efforts in making the background preparation for the meditation to happen effortlessly.

At the plane of their highly evolved consciousness, self-realized beings speak the same truth albeit in a different manner, in different styles.

Truth is not of different kinds. There is only one universal truth. And the one who has experienced that truth, has shattered his ignorance forever, broken free of all bondage and delusions, is a Buddha.

Related All bondages and all belief systems are the creation of human mind and truth is beyond mind – Anandamurti Gurumaa Quotes