--> Skip to main content

Six Abodes of Lord Muruga in Tamil Nadu – Arupadai Veedu

Arupadai Veedu (aaru-padai-veedu) or ‘six-army-houses’ are the six temples dedicated to Muruga in Tamil Nadu which depicts Muruga as a warrior-god. It is also known as Thirumurugatrupadai. The temples are located atop six sacred hills and dates back to the 2nd century.

The six abodes of Lord Muruga are:

Thiruparankundram Temple - Located in Madurai. It is believed that Lord Muruga married Devasena here. Muruga stands in the form of groom - Kalyana Muruga.

Thiruchendur Murugan Temple - Only Arupadai Veedu not on a hill. It is located on the beach of Bay of Bengal. Muruga Vanquished Soorapadman here.

Palani Murugan Temple - Muruga is worshipped here as Dandayuthapani - an ascetic boy holding dandam or staff.

Swamimalai Murugan Temple -Located near Kumbakonam. Muruga is here worshipped as the teacher of Shiva. Muruga explained the meaning of Pranava mantra to Shiva here.

Thiruttani Murugan Temple - Muruga cooled himself down here after defeating Soorapadman. Muruga also married Valli here.

Pazhamudircholai Murugan Temple - Located near Madurai. Muruga gave darshan to Avvaiyar here. it is the only Arupadai Veedu where Muruga appears with his consorts in the main sanctum.