--> Skip to main content

Rajapathy Kailasanathar Temple in Thoothukudi – Eighth Nava Kailasam Temple

Rajapathy Kailasanathar Temple is one of the Nava Kailasam Temples and is dedicated to Lord Shiva. It is located at Rajapathy in Thoothukudi District, Tamil Nadu. This temple is associated with Kethu, among the Navgrahas. The shrine is around 26 km from Thoothukudi Town.

This is the eighth among the nine Nava Kailasam temples. It is also known as the Dakshina Kalahasthi.

The shrine is located on the banks of Thamiraparani River.

Shiva is worshipped here as Kailasanathar. Mother Goddess Shakti is worshipped as Soundaryanayaki.  Nandi murti faces the main Shivling.

Subsidiary deities include Ganesha, Nataraja, Dakshinamurti, Bhairava, Muruga with his consorts and Sivakami. 63 Nayanmars are worshipped in murti form here.

Those people suffering due to bad positioning of Kethu Navagraha in their horoscope find relief after offering prayers here.

Rajapathy Kailasanathar Temple Timings
Morning Pooja and Darshan Time: 7:00 AM to 12:00 PM
Evening Pooja and Darshan Time: 4:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Ketu Parihara pujas
On Sunday from 12:00 PM to 1:30 PM and
On Tuesday from 9:00 AM to 10:30 AM

Shivratri and Margazhi Thiruvathira are the important dates at the shrine.