Skip to main content

Nalambalam Darshan in Kerala – Visiting Four Temples Dedicated to Lord Rama and his Brothers

Nalambalam Yatra, or the darshan of four temples, is an important pilgrimage done in Kerala in the Karikidakam month, also known as the Ramayana Masam. The four temples are dedicated to Lord Ram, Bharatha, Lakshman and Shathrughnan – the four brothers in the Ramayana epic. Most people begin the journey of the four temples from the famous Sri Krishna Temple in Guruvayur as temples are within 60 km from here.
  • Sree Rama Temple at Triprayar is dedicated to Lord Ram.
  • Koodalmanickam Bharatha Temple at Irinjalakuda is dedicated to Bharatha, the second brother.
  • Lakshmana Temple at Moozhikkulam is dedicated to Lakshman, the third brother
  • Shathrughna Temple at Payammel is dedicated to Shathrughna, the fourth brother.
All these ancient temples are south of Guruvayur Krishna Temple and comes in an order – temple of eldest brother Ram first and temple of youngest brother last.

During the Ramayana Masam (mid July to mid August), government and private travel agencies conduct daily trip to the four temples from the Guruvayur Sri Krishna Temple.

Latest Posts