--> Skip to main content

Varapuzha Varaha Swamy Temple – Festival – History

Varaha Swamy Temple is located at Varapuzha Town, which is accessible from NH-17 highway about 15 km from Ernakulam in Kerala. The original deity in this temple was Narasimha Moorthy, which was later shifted to Mulki, and was replaced by a magnificent seven hooded murti of Varaha Swamy brought from Goa. After installation of the Varaha murthy, the place came to be known as Varapuzha.

The 8-day annual festival in the temple is held on punartham nakshatra in Phalguna month (February – March).

The main sanctum sanctorum has the murti of Venkatachalapathy with Mahalakshmi and Bhoomi Devi on either side. The Utsava Vigraha is that of Varaha Moorthy.

Hanuman and Mahaganapathy are the upa devatas in the temple. Ganpati murti here is with trunk twisted right (Valampiri). The ganapathy temple is on the southern part of the nalambalam. Hanuman temple is located on the right side of the entrance to nalambalam.

As per history, the original temple got dilapidated and since neither the temple nor the people had sufficient funds to reconstruct the structure, the temple was handed over to Alappuzha Anantha Narayanapuram Thuravoor Tirumala Devaswom (AATTD). AATTD authorities reconstructed the temple and punaprathista was conducted on Makayiram day of Edavam month of 1127 M.E. (1952).Thereafter the daily poojas and annual festivals are conducted without failure.

The entrance Gopuram was recently constructed along with the Anapandal. The Anapandal is constructed on 8 pillars. Each of the pillar has a shilpa of Dashavatar on it. The remaining two avatars of Varaha and Narasimha are crafted on the pillars at the entrance of the nalambalam.