--> Skip to main content

Varaha Moorthy Temple Trivandrum Kerala – Sreevaraham Temple Timings - Pond

Varaha Moorthy Temple is situated at Sreevaraham near Sree Padmanabhaswamy Temple in Trivandrum, Kerala. This is a rare Varaha temple in India with Goddess Lakshmi sitting on the lap of Lord Varaha. Thus the temple is also known as Sreevaraham Temple or Lakshmi Varaha Temple. It is believed that there are only three Varaha temples in Kerala and only a total of 24 Varaha temples all over India. Varaha, is the third incarnation, of Lord Vishnu.

Sreevaraham Temple Timings

Morning - 5:00 AM to 11:30 AM
Evening - 5:00 PM to 8:00 PM

Big Pond - Varaha Theertham

Varaha Moorthy Temple has one of the biggest temple ponds in Kerala – around 8 acres. The pond is known as Varaha Theertham and is believed to be the second largest temple pond in Kerala. A mandapam is located in the middle of the pond.

As per legend, the temple pond was created by Arjuna of Mahabharata.

It is one among the 108 teerthams in India.

Varaha Moorthy Temple Trivandrum Kerala –

The Main Varaha Moorthy Temple 

The main sanctum sanctorum is round in shaped and the roof is protected using copper plates. The nalambalam is square shaped. The temple is west facing and has golden Dwaja Prathishta (flag post).

The subsidiary deities or upa devatas worshipped in the temple are Ganapathy, Sri Krishna, Nagas, Yakshi and Rakshasas.

The main offerings in temple are typical of Kerala Temples including archana, Ganapathy Homam, Ashtottara Archana, Thrimadhuram, Paal Payasam, Unniyappam, Thulabaram.

Festivals - Pujas - Rituals

The main festival in the temple is observed in March – April coinciding with the Panguni Uthiram.

Varaha Avatharam Jayanti which falls soon after on Vaishakh Shukla Paksha Panchami is another important festival in the shrine.

Thursday is the most important day in the temple.

The temple is managed by the Travancore Devaswom Board.

Popular Temples Near Varaha Moorthy Temple

  • Sree Padmanabhaswamy Temple (1 km)
  • Pazhavangadi Maha Ganapathy Temple (1.2 Km)
  • Attukal Bhagavathy Temple (2 km)
  • Sreekanteswaram Mahadeva Temple (1 km)
  • Sreevaraham Mukkolakkal Bhagavathy Temple (0.5 km)
  • Manakkad Dharmasastha Temple(1 km)
  • Mithranandapuram Trimurti Temple (0.6 km)
  • Vilwamangalam Samadhi Sree Krishna Swami Temple (0.5 km)
The temple is around 1.5 km from Thiruvananthapuram Central Railway Station.