Pandarpur Yatra Route – The Road Taken During Pandharpur Waari

Pandarpur Yatra Route or the annual road taken for the 21-day pilgrimage known as Pandharpur Waari is unique, preplanned and followed for centuries. The annual Pandharpur Yatra to the famous Vithoba Temple at Pandarpur in Maharashtra from mainly from Dehu and Alandi near Pune attracts thousands of warkaris.  The yatra takes place in the month of (June – July).

Pandarpur Yatra Route

The Palki of Sant Tukaram Maharaj starts first from Dehu (around 34 km from Pune).

The next day the Palki of Sant Jnaneshwar Maharaj starts from Alandi.

The both palkis reach Pune and after a brief halt proceed to Pandharpur via Saswad – crossing the Nira River.

The pilgrimage reaches Lonand and thousands of devotees join the Waari here.

Then the Palki goes to Taradgaon, Barad, Natepute, Malsiras, Velapur, Shegaon and reaches Vakhari – the most important halt.

All Palkis reach at Vakhari two days before the Pandarpur Ashadi Ekadasi day.

Next day the Palkis head towards Pandarpur in an order set for centuries.