--> Skip to main content

Chamravattom Ayyappa Temple – Information – History - Festival

Chamravattom Ayyappa temple is located around 13 km from Tirur in Malappuram district. The temple lies on a land formed by two arms of Bharathapuzha River. The temple is one among the 108 Sastha temples in Kerala. The temple is known as Chamravattom in Thottam Pattu (Ayyappan Theeyattu Pattu), which narrates the 108 Ayyappan Kavukal in Kerala.

The Prathishta is that of Sastha along with Purna and Pushkala. It is believed that the murti worshipped here is Swayambu – of divine origin.

The Upa Devatas worshipped in the temple are Ganapathy, Goddess Durga, two Shivlings, Bhadrakali, Ayyappan, Vishnu, Subrahmanya and Goddess Parvati.

The arattu in the temple takes place when Bharathapuzha overflows and enters the sanctum sanctorum.

Chuttu Vilakku ritual is held from Dhanu 1 to Dhanu 12 in the temple.

Another legend has it that the Prathishta of swayambhu shila was done by Parashurama and later Sabari Maharishi rediscovered the murti and started worshipping it. It is believed that the ashram of Sabari Maharishi was nearby. Then the place was known as Shambara Vattam and it later corrupted to become Chamravattom.

One has to make use of small traditional boats to reach the temple during the rainy season.

The annual Prathishta Dinam festival is held in Kumbha masam.