--> Skip to main content

Deepavali Koodi Ezhunnallathu At Thuravoor

Every year on Deepavali day an annual festival takes place at Thuravoor in Alappuzha district, Kerala for Koodi Ezhunnallathu. All the deities of various temples at Thuravoor assemble on the day at a designated spot. The thidambu or utsava murti of the deities are carried atop elephants to the accompaniment of melam.

The deities participating in the Koodi Ezhunnallathu are

  1. Thuravoor Narasimha temple
  2. Thuravoor Maha Sudarshana Moorthy
  3. Thuravoor Purandareswaram Shiva temple
  4. Thiruvenikidpuram
  5. Sri Krishna of Pattathalil
  6. Mannath Krishna
  7. Kainikkara Krishna 
Thuravoor kara, in ancient times was a Brahmin village inhabited by Brahmin families. These families were the owners of the temple in this kara.

Purandareswarathappan is the only Shiva deity and is positioned west to Lord Narasimha in this Kootti Ezhunnallathu.