--> Skip to main content


Showing posts from August 14, 2020

Story of Durvasa Cursing Varuni With Stomach Of Elephant And Mouth Of Goat

Varuni was the daughter of Varuna, lord of the seas. She too had to face the wrath of Sage Durvasa. She was cursed with the stomach of elephant and mouth of goat. As per the story, Lord Varuna once invited Sage Durvasa to have lunch in his abode. Durvasa had this strange habit of eating. He used to eat a lot of food on a particular occasion and then used to go hungry for several months. When Durvasa was having his food, Varuni happened to arrive there. She was amused by the amount of food the Sage was consuming. She could not control herself and burst out laughing. This was more than enough for the short-tempered Sage to get angry. He stood up and cursed Varuni to have the stomach of an elephant and the face of a goat. She roamed hungrily with a weird body. It was impossible for her to fill her stomach with such a small mouth. She traveled south and performed intense penance near Madurai in present day Tamil Nadu. Mother Goddess Shakti was pleased with her penance and gave

Bhagnadanta – Broken Tusk of Ganesha

Bhagnadanta, the broken tusk of Ganesha, is a symbol of sacrifice. Ganpati broke his beautiful right tusk and used it as a stylus to write the Mahabharata being narrated by Sage Vyasa. Bhagnadanta of Ganesh teaches us that we must always finish the task we begin. It also suggests the breaking of ego. Tusk is the most beautiful and valuable part of an elephant’s body. In pursuit of knowledge and wisdom, we must be ready to sacrifice what is most valuable to us.

Arunachala Shiva – Rare Information About Arunachaleswarar Shiva

Arunachala is the form of Shiva is worshipped in the famous Arunachaleswarar Temple at Tiruvannamalai in Tamil Nadu. It is worthy to note that Arunachala is that form of Shiva in which the Mother Shakti shares half His body. ‘Aruna’ itself stands for the Mother Goddess Shakti and ‘Achala’ for Mahadev Shiva. Aruna is a name of Mother Goddess Shakti, because of her deep red color. When she appears is deep red color she is the Divine Mother of Power and is referred to as Kameshwari. The red color typifies creativity and love in Hindu tradition. It is of note that when attributeless white incandescence resolves itself into seven primary colors it is red (infra-red) that comes out as the first evolute. The attributeless Shiva is white incandescene and His Shakti (Maya) who is the origin of the world of attributes is appropriately the red Aruna. Achala means non-moving. It symbolizes the static Shiva whose Shakti is the ever dynamic Dance of Dualities. On one occasion Shiva rejected

Nirbija Samadhi

Nirbija Samadhi is the two varieties of Samadhi described in the Yogasutra of Sage Patanjali. Bija in Sanskrit means the seed. The word is used in Yoga in relation to Samadhi, to differentiate between two varieties of Samadhi, respectively called sabija and nirbija. Sabija indicates a state in which the seeds of rebirth, that is to say, the five afflictions of the mind and the traces of past experience, still remain active, although their propensities may be greatly reduced. Nirbija means seedless. This is the variety of Samadhi in which the seed or rebirth is completely made ineffective. It is also called asamprajnata Samadhi sahajavastha, unmani or jivanmukti. As described by Patanjali (Yogasutra : I.47-51), there are four main varieties of sabija Samadhi, depending upon the object of concentration. When an adept master, the nirvikara variety of them, makes his intellect exceedingly purified of impurities, i.e., the afflictions of the mind, and the traces of past experience,

Dnyaneshwari Teachings On Mind

Teachings on mind from Dnyaneshwari  (13:103-116). That which lies at the joining place of the organs and the intellect, playing around by its fickle nature and with the help of the Raja attribute, it gives deceptive appearances like the blue colour of the sky or like the waves in a mirage. When the body takes shape out of the five principles (elements) through the union of the semens and the ovum the air principle gets divided into ten parts with ten different aspects which get themselves established in ten different parts according to the individual properties and functions of each. Due to its purely fickle nature it gains its strength from the Raja attribute and implants itself firmly outside the intellect and above the ego i.e. in between them. It has been named as "mind" for no particular reason but actually it is only a concept. Because of it the Soul gets to be associated with the body. It is the root cause of the inclination for action. It strengthens