--> Skip to main content


Showing posts from August 2, 2020

Minor Upanishads In Hinduism

The number of minor Upanishads varies from fifty to ninety eight (mentioned in Muktika Upanishad) and even more than two hundred. The Adyar Library has published all the 108 Upanishads. Some other minor Upanishads were published by Schrader under the heading Unpublished Upanishads (Adyar Library). The Ten Main Upanishads The 10 principal Upanishads are Isha Upanishad, Kena Upanishad, Katha Upanishad, Prashna Upanishad, Mundaka Upanishad, Mandukya Upanishad, Taittiriya Upanishad, Chandogya Upanishad, Aitareya Upanishad and Brihadaranyaka Upanishad. Adi Shankaracharya has written commentaries on them. The minor Upanishads find mention in Shankaracharya’s commentary on Upanishads. Svetasvatara Upanishad, Kaushtaki Upanishad, Maitri Upanishad and Nrisimha Tapaniya Upanishad are mentioned by Adi Shankaracharya but he has not written commentary on them. Six Volumes Of Minor Upanishads The six volumes of minor Upanishads, on the basis on the subject matter, which the Adyar Libr

Difference Between Puranas and Upapuranas In Hinduism

Puranas occupy a very important place in Hinduism in respect to rituals, ethics and history. There are eighteen major Puranas (Mahapuranas) and there are eighteen or even more minor Puranas (Upapuranas). Here is a look at the difference between Puranas and Upapuranas. Upapuranas are usually treated as of lesser importance and are assigned a secondary position compared to the Mahapuranas. The antiquity of the eighteen major Puranas goes back to the past as early as that of Vedic literature and they were committed to rewriting during the Gupta period, which marks the rise of Puranic Hinduism – imparting Vedic knowledge through stories and symbols. The Upapuranas however are a later addition. But there are some Upapuranas, for instance, Narasimha, Nandi, Samba and Aditya Puranas, which are believed to have been written before the Mahapuranas. The Upapuranas have been treated as less important because they are taken as upabhedas (sub sections) of major Puranas. These

Understanding Jnana and Karma Yoga

Ancient Hindu Scriptures taught Sankhya and Yoga. Sankhya is knowledge (jnana). Yoga is action (karma). Many men separate the two. But the true yogi does not divide them. The two are inseparable. Jnana and karma yoga are in harmony: there is no conflict between the two. There is only a question o discipline. One man has the discipline of jnana: another has the discipline of karma. Those who follow the discipline of jnana are called Sankhyas. Those who follow the discipline of nishkama karma (selfless action) are called Karma yogis. Jnana Yoga is also called Sanyasa Yoga because true jnana leads to sanyasa. Adi Shankaracharya in his commentary on Gita urges that a true jnani must be a sanyasi. But to be a sanyasi does not mean to be homeless. The Gita teaches that true sanyasa is not outer but inner renunciation of desires. Raja Janaka lived in a palace, but was non-attached. He was a jnani and practiced sanyasa. Jnana Yoga, sanyasa yoga and sankhya yoga are synonymous. Th