--> Skip to main content


Showing posts from October 10, 2019

Arundhati In Hinduism

Arundhati is a saintly woman mentioned in Hindu Puranas, epics and other scriptures. Her parents were Kardama Prajapati (father) and Devahuti (mother) and she was their eighth daughter. Her father was the son Brahma and her mother was also known as Akshamala. Arundhati on account of her chastity and devotion to her husband Sage Vasishta, was endowed with great spiritual powers. Story Of Shiva And Arundhati In Mahabharata The Mahabharata tells the story of Arundhati receiving the blessings of Lord Shiva and holding a position equal to the seven great Rishis (Sapta Rishis). While the seven great rishis (Kashyapa, Atri, Bharadwaja, Vishwamitra, Gautama, Jamadagni and Vasishta) were living in the Himalayas there was a long drought for twelve years. The rishis had to go without even the bare means of subsistence. Then Arundhati undertook an intense penance to get rain. Pleased with her penance, Shiva appeared before her in the guise of a Brahmin. As Arundhati had no food to serve

Chinese Kali Temple – Goddess Kali Temple at Matheswartala Road in Tangra – Kolkata

The Goddess Kali Temple at Matheswartala Road in Tangra, Kolkata is popularly known as Chinese Kali Temple. The temple was built by Chinese people residing in the China town and it is even today maintained by Chinese people residing in the area. What makes the Chinese Kali Temple different from Other Kali Temple in Kolkata? Goddess Kali worshipped in the temple is benign and kind form. She is not in the usual ferocious form. As Prasad (Bhog), Goddess Kali is offered noodles, rice and momos. Story of Chinese Kali Temple Around 60 years ago, the spot where the current Chinese Kali Temple stands was a place of Shakti worship. Pindi (murtis of Shakti in stone) was worshipped under a Banayan tree here. Once a Chinese boy fell ill and doctors were not able to cure him. The parents of the boy offered prayers daily to the pindi under the Banayan tree. Soon the boy recovered and got back to his normal self. Soon the news spread about the presence of Goddess K

Magha Nakshatra Date And Time 2020 – Makam Birth Star Dates In 2020

Magha Nakshatra 2020 dates based on traditional Hindu calendar, Astrology and Panchangam. Magha Nakshatra, also known as Magh or Makam or Magham in South India, is the tenth Nakshatra among the 27 Nakshatras. Below are Magha Nakshatra dates in 2020. The astrological prediction of Magha Nakshatra as per Moon Sign is that of Simha Rashi (Leo Zodiac). Surya or Sun is the Lord of the Raasi. The color of Magha is Ivory or Cream. Magha Nakshatra 2020 Date and Time - North - East - South of India This time is applicable in Delhi, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Chhattisgarh, Orissa, West Bengal, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Pondicherry, Jammu and Kashmir, Manipur, Tripura, Assam, Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Mizoram and Andaman and Nicobar. January 14, 2020, Tuesday Time is from 12:24 PM on January 13 to 10:59 AM on January 14, 2020 February 10, 2020, Monday Ti

Jivanmukti Viveka of Vidyaranya

Jivanmukti Viveka is a Sanskrit treatise on Advaita Vedanta and it is a work credited to Vidyaranya of 14 th Century AD. Vidyaranya was a scholar statesman who is said to have composed Jivanmukti Viveka after renouncing the world. According to most philosophical systems, the final emancipation is achieved after death (videha mukti). The non-dualists, however, aver that since ignorance and ego cause bondage, a sage who has transcended these limitations may be said to have attained jivanmukti (liberation in life). In the first chapter, while discussing the nature of renunciation, the indispensable condition of liberation, Vidyaranya makes a twofold division of it: The renunciation of the seeker (Vividisha Sanyasa) The renunciation of the knower (Vidvat Sannyasa) Renunciation of the seeker implies adoption of the formal insignia of a monk, engaging in scriptural study, rituals, contemplation, etc. This stage is preliminary to the second kind of renunciation, which is pur

Teachings On Shiva And Shivling – Brahma Kumaris

Brahma Kumaris organization teaching gives the symbolic meaning Shiva and Shivling: The linga is worshipped as the very image of Shiva, indicating that Shiva has neither male nor female form. Shiva is invoked as an incorporeal point of light. That is why the 12 renowned Shiva Temples in India are also known as Jyotirlinga, signifying light. The three-line mark on the Shivling known as Tripundi symbolizes the three-fold characteristics of the Trimurti, the lord of three subtle deities; Trinetri or the one who has the third eye of wisdom; Trikaldarshi or the one who surveys three aspects of time and Triloknath or the lord of the three worlds. Shiva is also known as Shambhu or Swayambhu – the One who incarnates on his own, onto this Earth, or the One who cannot be created – and Sada Shiva meaning that he is the Supreme Soul. The Sanskrit word Shiva, according to some scholars, is the confluence of two phonetic part, Shi and Va, meaning redeemer and liberator from sins

Atma Bodha Upanishad Quotes

A collection of quotes from Atma Bodha Upanishad Just as sugar is found permeating all the sugar juice – from which sugar is extracted – so I am full in the three worlds in the form of the non-dual Brahman. Like the bubbles, waves, etc., in the ocean, so all beings, from Brahma down to worm, are fashioned in Me; just as the ocean does not long after motion of waves, so to Me, there is no longing after sensual happiness, being Myself of the form of spiritual Bliss. Brihadeshwara Temple An intelligent person who sees both nectar and poison rejects poison; so having cognized Atma, I reject those that are not Atma. The sun that illuminates the pot both within and without is not destroyed with the destruction of the pot; so the Sakshi (witness) that illuminates the body is not destroyed with the destruction of the body.