--> Skip to main content


Showing posts from January 23, 2018

Magha Saptami 2024 date – Magh Shukla Saptami in Odisha

Magha Saptami is dedicated to Lord Surya, the Hindu sun god. Magha Saptami 2024 date is February 16. The most important ritual on the day is taking holy bath or holy dip in sea and holy rivers during sunrise. In Odisha, thousands of Hindus take a holy dip at the Chandrabhaga Tirtha near the Konark Sun Temple . Also known as Magha Shukla Saptami, it is observed on the seventh day during the shukla paksha or waxing phase of moon in the month of Magh (January – February). Magh Saptami is also observed as Ratha Saptami and is a major event in Tirupati Balaji Temple and in many parts of South India . It is also known as Surya Jayanti. The saptami is also  known as: Vidhan Saptami Arogya Saptami Mandar Saptami Acchala Saptami

How to do Ratha Saptami Puja?

Ratha Saptami Pooja, or Rath Saptami , is observed on the seventh day during Shukla Paksha (waxing phase of moon) in Magha Month in Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka and Maharashtra . In Tamil Nadu, it falls on the Thai or Masi month. Rath Saptami, also known as Surya Jayanti and Surya Saptami, is dedicated to Lord Surya. Here is a brief description on how to perform or observed Ratha Saptami. Requirements for Rath Saptami Puja Image or Painting or Idol of Lord Surya Easily available fragrant flowers and leaves that are usually used for Puja Uncooked Rice Green Bananas Bananas and other local fruits Sesame seeds Coconut Betel leaves Betel nuts Jaggery (Sugar) Turmeric powder The house is cleaned and festoons of mango leaves are installed in all the important places on the evening of the previous day of the Puja or early morning ofthe Puja day. Ritual Bathing of Ratha Saptami with Erukku leaves Washing hair on the day with leaves of Giant milkweed

Aitareya Aranyaka

Aranayaka are texts that form the third constituent part of the Vedas. Aitareya Aranayaka is the first Aranyaka in the Rig Veda. Aitareya Aranyaka consists of 5 Aranyakas, which are sub-divided into 18 chapters, and 75 Khandas. The first Aranayaka consists of mantras, Nishkaivalya Shastra and certain rights. The second and the third Aranayakas are called the Upanishads. The fourth and fifth chapter of the second Aranyaka constitutes the Aitareya Upanishad. The third Aranayaka constitute the Samhita Upanishad.