Skip to main content


Showing posts from October 25, 2014

Thiruchendur Murugan Temple – One of the Six Shrines of Muruga in the Arupadaiveedu Temples in Tamil Nadu

ThiruchendurMuruganTemple is the only ArupadaiveeduTemple that is located on a beach – the Bay of Bengal. The popular belief is that Murugan vanquished the demon Soorapadman here. The Sooramaharam ritual held on the sixth day of Skanda Sashti attracts thousands of devotees to the temple.

Legend has it that Demon Soorapadman became invincible with boons from Shiva. He soon became terror for all celestial and earthly beings. Muruga was then born to annihilate the demon. He accomplished the mission at the spot where the present day ThiruchendurMuruganTemple is located.
Muruga here is worshipped as Senthilandavar or Subramaniaswamy. Legend has it that after He annihilated the demon, Murugan wished to worship Shiva. Mayan, the divine architect, built the temple. The murti of Murga in the temple is seen in the posture of worshiping Shiva in the sanctum sanctorum.
The utsava murti or processional deity of Muruga is flanked by his consorts Valli and Devasena.

ThiruchendurMuruganTemple is more …

Material desire is undoubtedly the cause of the greatest unhappiness – Uddhava Gita

One who has transcended material good and evil automatically acts in accordance with religious injunctions and avoids forbidden activities. The self realized person does this spontaneously, like an innocent child, and not because he is thinking in terms of material good and evil.
One who is the kind well-wisher of all living beings, who is peaceful and firmly fixed in knowledge and realization, sees Me within all things.  Such a person never again falls down into the cycle of birth and death.
Generally those human beings who can expertly analyze the actual situation of the material world are able to raise themselves beyond the inauspicious life of gross material gratification.
Just as a fish, incited by the desire to enjoy his tongue, is fatally trapped on the fisherman’s hook, similarly, a foolish person is bewildered by the extremely disturbing urges of the tongue and thus is ruined.
Material desire is undoubtedly the cause of the greatest unhappiness, and freedom from such desire …

Parashuram Maharaj Punyatithi at Sultanpur near Akola in Maharashtra

Parashuram Maharaj was a great saint in the Bhakti tradition of Maharashtra. His Punyatithi or death anniversary is annually observed in Kartik month. Parashuram Maharaj Punyatithi 2017 date is November 5. The day is of great importance at Sultanpur near Akola in Maharashtra.
Satsangs and special prayers and meetings are organized on the day.
Parashuram Maharaj Punyatithi is annually observed on the Kartik Krishna Paksha Dwitiya or the second day during the waning phase of moon in Kartik month as per traditional Hindu Marathi calendar followed in Maharashtra.

Today’s Hindu Calendar – October 25, 2014 – Tithi, Vrat, Good Time, Nakshatra, Rashi and Festival

Tithi in Hindu Calendar on Saturday, October 25, 2014 (Today) – Shukla Paksha Dwitiya Tithi or the second day during waxing phase of moon in Hindu calendar and Panchang in all places. It is Shukla Paksha Pratipada Tithi or the first day during waxing phase of moon till 3:06 AM on October 25. Then onward it is Shukla Paksha Dwitiya Tithi or the second day during waxing phase of moon. All time based on India Standard Time.
Nakshatra – Swathi or Chothi Nakshatra till 5:20 AM on October 25. Then onward it is Vishakha or Vishakam Nakshatram.
Rashi or Moon Sign – Tula Rashi till 11:40 PM. Then onward it is Vrischika Rashi.
Festivals, Vrat and Auspicious days –Bhai Dooj – celebrating the relationship of brother and sister
Bhai Tika – Last of day of Tihar Festival in Nepal Chitragupta Puja – Rituals dedicated to Chitragupta – one who keeps accounts of good and bad deeds on earth. Yama Dwitiya – dedicated to Yama Vishwakarma Puja – Dedicated to Vishwakarma the divine architect of the universe