--> Skip to main content


Showing posts from September 10, 2019

Abharana – Ornaments Of Hindu Deities

A Hindu deity is generally identified by ornaments, color of dress, weapons and instruments mostly musical. The same deity may have more than one form and in dhyana shloka (verses uttered in meditation before worship), various ornaments are referred to. Anklets, bangles, armlets, a gold chain or pearl necklace, rings and crowns are commonly found. The same deity can appear in different forms – Nataraja (the dancing Shiva), Ardhanarishwara (an image of Shiva representing both male and female principles), Bhikshatana (the form of Shiva carrying a begging bowl), and so on. Some deities have one or more identifying ornaments. For instance, Vishnu wears the famous jewel Kaustubha on his breast. This gem emerged from the milky ocean when it was being churned. Vaijayanti is Vishnu’s necklace, made of five gems set together. Shiva has snakes as his ornaments. Nala and Kubera, two celestial beings, are said to have taken the form of the two earrings of Shiva. Shiva is also

Ashtami Rohini 2023 in Kerala - Birthday of Sri Krishna in 2023 in Kerala

Ashtami Rohini is observed as the birthday of Lord Krishna and in 2023 as per traditional Malayalam calendar followed in Kerala it is on September 6, 2023. Sri Krishna Jayanti and Janmashtami will be observed in North India on September 7. Birthday of Lord Krishna is observed on the Rohini Nakshatra day in Chingam Month in Malayalam calendar in Kerala. The corresponding date in other regions in some years varies by a day and sometimes by more than a month in certain years. The day is of great importance at Guruvayur Sri Krishna Temple , Ambalapuzha Sree Krishnaswamy Temple , Thrissur Thirvanmabadi Temple and in thousands of other Sri Krishna Temples in Kerala. Ashtami Rohini procession depicting scenes from the life of Lord Krishna is held all important cities, towns and villages in Kerala on the day. Special concerts, cultural programs and satsangs are also held on the day. Ashtami Rohini in Kerala is also famous for the Uriyadi – breaking the pot hung o

Thrikkakara Appan – The Clay Pyramid Structure Used During Onam

A clay pyramid structure with four faces and a flat top used during Onam celebrations symbolizes Thrikkakara Appan or Thrikakkarappan. This unique structure represents Vamana, an incarnation of Lord Vishnu. For some people, the pyramid represents both King Maveli and Vishnu. It is also referred as Onathappan. Thrikkakara Appan is the presiding deity in the famous Thrikkakara temple in Ernakulam District of Kerala and is closely associated with the Onam myth. It is believed that Vamana had sent Mahabali to Pattalam at Thrikkakara. The place where the holy feet (Trikkal) of Vishnu touched came to be known as Thrikkakara. This later became Thrikkakara. According to Onam Story  and popular belief, Lord Vishnu in his Vamana Avatar unjustly pushed King Mahabali into the netherworld or pathalam. But Lord Vishnu granted King Bali the boon to visit his subjects once in a year. It is also believed that King Bali got ‘Vishnu sayujyam’ or reached the Vaikuntha. Due to this both King Ma

How One Attains Liberation? – Ashtavakra Answers King Janak

How One Attains Liberation? – Ashtavakra Answers To King Janak King Janaka asked, “Oh Lord, how does one attain liberation and how is non-attachment attained? Please tell me this. Ashtavakra replied, “Oh beloved, if you want liberation, then renounce the passions as poison and take forgiveness and innocence, compassion, contentment, and truth as nectar. You are neither earth nor air nor fire nor water nor ether. To attain liberation know yourself as the witnessing consciousness of all these. If you separate yourself from the physical body and rest in consciousness then this very moment you will be happy, at peace, and free of bondage. You are not a Brahmin or other caste. You are not in any of the four stages of life. You are not perceived by the eyes of other senses. Unattached and without form, you are the witness of the whole universe. Know this and be happy. Oh expansive one, religion and atheism, happiness and misery, order of the mind – they are not for

Forms Of Shiva — Bhoga, Yoga And Vega

What form does Lord Siva take? The answer is that He is formless, but He takes the form of a Linga, and also has a form such as we see in murtis. In addition, His forms are known by three names — bhoga, yoga and vega. In bhoga form, He is seen with His consort. An example would be the Somaskanda form where Lord Subrahmanya is also seen with the Divine Couple. So in this form, Lord Siva is a family ‘man.’ In the yoga form, He is seen in the pose of one engaged in penance. An example would be Dakshinamurthy. Vega is the form of the Lord where He is terrible. The interpretation of ‘terrible’ here means that He is in a mood of anger, and in a mood to destroy. The forms of Bhairava and Veerabhadra are examples of this. It is said that Lord Siva has 64 forms, and among these 25 are important. Chandesa Anugraha, Gajasamhara, Ardhanareeswara etc are some of these 25 important forms. All these 25 fit under one of the 3 categories of bhoga, yoga and vega. Source – Disc