Skip to main content


Showing posts from July 1, 2013

Important Hindu Festivals and Auspicious Days in July 2013

Dates of important festivals associated with Hinduism in July 2013 – based on major Hindu calendars and Panchangam used in India. The festivals, Vrats and auspicious days are based on Indian Standard Time (IST). You can also take help through the comment section on good dates for various purposes including house warming, joining job, buying car or house, moving into new rented home etc.

July 3 – Yogini Ekadasi Vrat Smarta July 4 – Yogini Ekadasi Vrat Vaishnav July 5 – Pradosh Vrat July 6 – Monthly Shivratri Fasting – Shiva Chaturdasi Vrat July 7 – Amavasya Vrat July 8 – Amavasya – No moon day July 9 – Ashada month begins in Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Karnataka and Maharashta. July 10 – Puri Jagannath Rath Yatra July 14 – Sashti Fasting July 14 – Aani Uthiram in Tamil Calendars July 16 – Kharchi Puja in Tripura July 17 – Karkidaka Masam begins in Kerala (Ramayana Masam) July 17 – Aadi Masam begins in Tamil Calendars July 17 – Bhatali Navami July 18 – Shraban month begins in Bengali Cale…

Four Yugas in Hinduism

The four yugas is a unique concept associated with Hinduism. This calculation of time in Hinduism is cyclical, not linear. A cycle of manifestation and dissolution is divided into four Yugas – Satya (Krta), Treta, Dwapara and Kali.

The four yugas is like a downward graph when it is studied on the basis of human activity. There is a gradual deterioration in the condition of human life and activity with the passing of each yuga.
The duration of the different yuga is as follows: Satya – 1,728,000 human years Treta – 1, 296, 000 human years Dwapara – 864,000 human years Kali – 432,000 human years
We are living the Kali Yuga, which began in 3102 BC.
The symbolic color associated with each yuga is as follows Satya – White Treta – Yellow Dwapara – Red Kali – Black
The four yugas are taken to be a Maha Yuga.
A Maha Yuga is one day and night of Brahma.
As per Hinduism, universe is Anadi – Ananta – without beginning and without end. Thus it goes through recurrent phases of manifestation and di…

Temple of Brahma in Andhra Pradesh – Sri Chaturmukha Brahmalingeswara Swamy Temple – Brahma Murti Carved on Shivling

Temples dedicated to Brahma are very rare. SriChaturmukhaBrahmalingeswaraSwamyTemple at Chebrolu in Guntur District in Andhra Pradesh is one such rare temple. The temple is unique as murti of Brahma is here carved on a Shivling.
At SriChaturmukhaBrahmalingeswaraSwamyTemple, Brahma is worshipped along with Shiva. The temple was built around 200 years ago.
Legend has it that Brahma was cursed by Bhrugu Maharshi that he would not be worshipped on earth.  So there is no separate individual shrine for Brahma, instead four faces of Brahma are carved on the four sides of the Shivling worshipped here.
Except for the temple at Pushkar in Rajasthan, there are no famous temple dedicated Hindu God Brahma. (Why there are no famous temples dedicated to Brahma?) The Hindu reports  This is a beautiful temple situated in the midst of a tank surrounded by two small temples of Lord Siva towards the east and west and that of Vishnu in the north and south and four temples of goddess Sakti in the four cor…

Humour is the buffer that saves you from humiliation – Sri Sri Ravi Shankar

Do not make an effort to impress others. When you come from the self, your expression is perfect and your impression lasts for ages.

A Presence is in control of the whole universe. You just do your part and relax!

Austerity is mistaken with poverty or self-denial. It is neither. Austerity comes out of maturity and brings freedom from the pride of vanity.

Humour is the buffer that saves you from humiliation. If you have a good sense of humour you can never be humiliated.

There is a place you can come where everything is beautiful. Where is this place? It is within you. Then wherever you go, you add beauty there.

Sri Sri Ravi Shankar

Today’s Hindu Calendar – July 1, 2013 – Tithi, Vrat, Good Time, Nakshatra, Rashi and Festival

Tithi in Hindu Calendar on July 1, 2013 (Today) – Krishna Paksha Navami Tithi or the ninth day during the waning phase of moon in Hindu calendar and Panchang in all places. It is Krishna Paksha Ashtami Tithi or the eighth day during the waning phase of moon till 2:57 AM. Then onward it is Krishna Paksha Navami Tithi or the ninth day during the waning phase of moon. All time based on India Standard Time.
Nakshatra – Revathi Nakshatra till 8:02 PM. Then onward it is Ashwini or Ashwathy Nakshatram
Rashi or Moon Sign – Meena Rashi till 8:02 PM. Then onward it is Mesha Rashi.
Festivals, Vrat and Auspicious days – 
Kali Yuga Year – 5115
Vikram Samvant 2070 - Ashada Krishna Paksha Navami Tithi or the ninth day during the waning phase of moon in Ashada month in calendars followed in North India - Delhi, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Chhattisgarh, Orissa and Jammu and Kashmir.
Vijayanama Samvatsar/ Shalivahana Saka 1935…