Skip to main content


Showing posts from November 15, 2017

Ayyappa Mala Procedure – How to Wear Ayyappa Mala to Visit Sabarimala Temple?

Devotees visiting the SabarimalaAyyappaTemple should compulsorily wear the Ayyappa Mala. This Mala is worn after beginning the Vratam to visit the Sabarimala Shrine. Usually, the Ayyappa Mala is worn in a local Ayyappa temple or any other temple near the house. Those who are unable to do it at a temple or holy place wear the Mala at home in the Puja room or area.
The Mantra chanted while wearing the Ayyappa Mala is
Jnaanamudraam shaastrumudraam gurumudraam namaamyaham
Vanamudraam shuddhamudraam rudramudraam namaamyaham
Shaantamudraam satyamudraam vratamudraam namaamyaham
Shabaryaashrama satyena mudraam paatu sadaapi mae
Gurudakshinayaa poorvam tasyaanugraha kaarine
Sharanaagata mudraakhyam tvan mudraam dhaarayaamyaham
Chinmudraam khechareemudraam bhadramudraam namaamyaham
Shabaryaachala mudraayai namastubhyam namo namaha
Ayyappa malas are usually made of Rudraksha beads, Tulsi, Pavizham (small gem stones), Raktha Chandanam, Uduppi Tulsi, or Black Pavizham. A devotee chooses a particu…

Krittika Nakshatra 2018 Predictions – Karthigai Natchathiram Palangal - Kartika Birth Star Astrological Predictions in 2018

Krittika Nakshatra, or Karthigai Natchathiram, people will have a tough year in 2018. You will be doing property related transactions. Krittika Nakshatra 2018 predictions (palangal or phalam) based on birth star is given below: Krittika Mesha Rashi will have some relief after the first quarter of the year. Karthigai Nakshatra Vrishabha Rashi will see ups and downs through out the year. The birth star is known as Kartika Naal in Kerala.
March, May, September, and November are good months for Kartika Nakshatram. January, April, July, August, and December will be tough. February, June, and October will see both good and bad.  As per Hindu astrology calendar, the first quarter of Kartika Nakshatram is in Medakurru or Mesha Rashi (Aries Zodiac) and next ¾ quarter is in Edavakurru or Vrishaba Raasi (Taurus Zodiac).

Krittika is known as Karthigai in Tamil Astrology and Kartika in Kerala Malayalam Astrology.
Krittika Nakshatra Career - Job - Business 2018:You can expect a sudden reversal in c…

Symbolism – Story of Hanuman Sitting on Bharata’s Arrow to Reach Lanka in the Ramayana

Hanuman Sitting on Bharata’s Arrow to Reach Lanka in the Ramayana should not be seen as a figment of imagination. There is deep symbolism attached to it.

Hanuman who was carrying the mountain with medicinal herbs was misunderstood by the residents of Ayodhya as a flying monster. They informed Bharata, their king, who shot an arrow and forced Hanuman to descend to the ground.

When Bharata realized his mistake, he wanted to help Bhagavan Sri Ram.

Hanuman told Bharata that he could of great help, if he could make him reach his destination fast, so that he can save the life of Lakshmana.

Bharata then meditated on Rama and mounted an arrow on his bow. He asked Hanuman to sit on the arrowhead. He then shot the arrow, which soon attained the speed of sound, and Hanuman reached his destination – feet of Bhagavan Sri Ram.

Symbolically, this incident narrates the greatness of Bhakti. Bharata was the greatest Bhakta of Bhagavan Sri Ram. His Bhakti was unfathomable. There is no comparison. He ha…

Sanmata – Six Sub Faiths in Hinduism Established by Adi Shankaracharya

Sanmata is the six sub faiths in Hinduism established by Adi Shankaracharya. These are six alternative ways of worship – personal gods. The six sub faiths are: Shaivam (Shiva)Vaishnavism (Vishnu, including is all avatars)Shaktam (Shakti, Devi, Durga and all the divine forms of Mother Goddess)Ganapatyam (Ganesha)Sauram (Surya)Kumaram (Skanda or Muruga) The six forms represent Saguna Brahman – with qualities, aspects, powers, name and forms.

Symbolically Shiva represents knowledge; Vishnu lordship; Shakti exemplifies power; Ganesha strength; Kumara symbolizes valor and Surya splendor.

Prapancha Sara Tantra – In this text written by Adi Shankaracharya, he gave detail description of murtis of each of the six deities, their mantras, sequence of worship and other details.

The conflicts among the various religious sects were settled through the Sanmata concept.
Worship of personal god is given importance by Adi Shankaracharya.

Conserve the energy of the sense organs

We constantly blame the mind for distractions and for losing focus. Our complaint is that the mind is wandering all the time. Imagine a person who is served several plates of mouth-watering dishes at the same time, all dishes exuding mind-blowing scents, and served with royal dressings. How can that person concentrate on only one dish then? Such is the predicament of our mind.

It is constantly being simultaneously fed several sensory inputs. When the eyes see, all the other four senses do not shut down. So is the case with the other sense-organs. Much like a person, who is aware of the usage of electricity, would switch off the electrical appliances that are not needed; we should switch off our sense organs that we are not using at that moment. That would lead to an enormous energy surplus in our body.

Just like a camera consumes energy even if it is just switched on, similarly, our sense organs consume energy even if they just stay put on a particular object. The best way to conserv…

Hindu Calendar Today – November 15, 2017 – Tithi, Vrat, Good - Auspicious Time, Nakshatra, Rashi and Festivals

Tithi in Hindu Calendar, Today, on Wednesday, November 15, 2017 – Krishna Paksha Dwadasi Tithi or the twelfth day during the waning phase of moon inHindu calendar and Panchang in most regions. It isKrishna Paksha Dwadasi Tithi or the twelfth day during the waning phase of moon till 2:01 PM on November 15. Then onward it isKrishna Paksha Trayodasi Tithi or the thirteenth day during the waning phase of moon till 2:00 PM on November 16. All time based on India Standard Time.
How is November 15, 2017, as per Hindu Panchang? – It is a good and auspicious day till 1:05 PM. Nakshatra – Hasta or Hastam Nakshatra till 3:21 PM on November 15. Then onward it is Chitra or Chithirai or Chithira Nakshatram till 4:09 PM on November 16.
In western parts of India (Maharashtra, Gujarat, Goa and south Rajasthan), Hasta or Hastam Nakshatra till 1:46 PM on November 15. Then onward it is Chitra or Chithirai or Chithira Nakshatram till 3:18 PM on November 16.
Rashi or Moon Sign – Kanya Rashi till 3:44 AM on N…