--> Skip to main content


Showing posts from August 12, 2017

Twelve Important Temples Dedicated to Shiva in India – The 12 Jyotirlinga Temples

The twelve important Hindu temples in India dedicated to Lord Shiva are those with the Jyotirlinga or Jyotirlinga. These 12 temples are known as Dwadash Jyotirlinga or Jyotirlinga. The twelve temples attract millions of Hindu devotees and the most important common festival observed in these temples is the Maha Shivaratri or Shivratri. Jyotirlinga means ‘the linga of light’ – the Shivalinga is in the symbolic form of a stone tinctured with a cycle of light. There are numerous legends associated with the origin of Jyotirlinga. It is believed that Lord Shiva for the first time appeared in the form of Jyotirlinga. The twelve temples with Jyotirlinga in India are: Somnath Temple at Saurashtra in Gujarat . Mallikarjun Temple in Srisailam, or Shrishailam, in Andhra Pradesh. Mahakal Temple , or Mahakaleshwar, in Ujjain Madhya Pradesh. Omkar Temple , or Amishvar, at Omkareshwar on the banks of Narmada River in Madhya Pradesh. Kedarnath Temple or Ked