Skip to main content


Showing posts from May 17, 2013

Panchdev Shakti Kavach

Panchdev is the name given to the five important deities in Hinduism. Panchdev Shakti Kavach is the amulet worn by people who believe in the protection offered by it. Panchdev are Ganesha, Vishnu, Shiva, Durga and Surya. Offering prayers to the five deities before the beginning of any venture is considered highly meritorious.

The mool mantras associated with the Panchdevatas are etched in the Kavach.
The kavach is worn by those people who are facing constant failures in life. It is believed that the Panchdev Shakti Kavach provides with the necessary confidence to face tough situations boldly.

Adi Kedareshwar Temple Dedicated to Shiva in Badrinath

AdiKedareshwarTemple is located near the Badrinath Temple in Uttarakhand. The temple is dedicated to Shiva. AdiKedareshwarTemple is a small shrine and is situated at Govind Shila, above Tapt Kund (hot spring), and is on the way to BadarinathTemple.

The greatness of the AdiKedareshwarTemple at Badrinath is mentioned in the Skanda Purana. Shiva is here worshipped as Kedareshwar. The belief is that those who cannot travel to Kedarnath can perform worship at the temple as it is equal to visiting KedarnathTemple.
Story of Adi Kedareshwar Temple Legend has it the region where the current BadrinathTemple is located was the dwelling place of Shiva and Parvati. Vishnu was looking for a place to mediate and liked the place. He then approached Shiva and Parvati as a child and requested them for permission to do penance in the region. Shiva and Parvati agreed and vacated the place and moved to Kedarnath. This is the reason why the place is known as Adi Kedareshwar.
Related Story of Badrinath Temple

The measure of our freedom is the measure of our ability to give love - Swami Chinmayananda

The measure of our freedom is the measure of our ability to give love. It is our inner shackles that take away all our love from us and make us hungry and thirsty for love of others. There in man becomes a slave to the world of tempting objects and charming beings.

In spite of all our best efforts we may slip now and then. But that need not worry us. We are imperfect ones trying our best to gain perfection. Let every slip in us be an education for us. Let us grow expand ultimately to improve to shine out.
Let our present actions atone for our past mistakes.
Be honest to yourself, to your convictions. Let the world bark: the world around you will never remain silent. Swami Chinmayananda