Skip to main content


Showing posts from June 17, 2011

Symbolism in Saffron Clothes or Robes Worn by Hindu Saints

Hindu saints generally wear saffron colored clothes. Today saffron color is associated with holy men of other religions too. White is another preferred color by Hindu saints. The choice of saffron robes by Hindu saints has a deep symbolism associated with it.

Saffron symbolically represents Agni or fire. Agni is light. A saint ushers in the light of knowledge and leads a person from darkness into light.

Another quality of Agni is that it accepts anything and transforms it. A saint similarly accepts everything and purifies and absorbs it. The saint leaves out all that is bad and gives out pure knowledge.

Wood and Stone Carving Lessons – Learn to Carve Hindu Murti and Sculptors

G L Bhat an eminent Sculptor from Bangalore, India, is conducting classes on wood and stone carving. This is an ideal opportunity for sculpture enthusiasts and for those people who want to make sculpting as a profession. The course is held at Sanathana Kalakshetra in Bangalore. Monthly fees of the course is Rs 1000/-. There is also an admission of Rs 1000/-. Uma Swamy writes about the course in Citizen Matters Bangalore
It is a special opportunity as G L Bhat is training in wood and stone carving for the very first time. He will conduct these classes in Sanathana Kalakshetra, a centre for training in different arts and crafts, located in 9th Main Road, 4th Block Jayanagar (adjacent to the Telephone Exchange) Sanathana Kalakshetra is conducting evening classes every Tuesday and Friday. Apart from a one time admission fee of Rs. 1000, the fee for the classes is Rs. 1000 per month.

The classes began last fortnight but sculptor enthusiasts should hurry if they want to learn. The students c…

Swami Bhoomananda Tirtha – Words of Wisdom

Krishna says in the Bhagavad Gita that there is no option to act or not act because all activities are designed and maintained by Nature that has three spiritual constituents - satva, rajo and tamo gunas.

Satva guna represents light, happiness and wisdom, rajo guna represents all forms of activity and the causes for them such as attraction, repulsion, and jealousy. Tamo guna represents ignorance, lethargy and sleep. These three propel all activity. All three gunas are at work in all your actions - only the proportion keeps changing. In spiritual masters, there will be larger proportion of satva guna, closely followed in smaller proportion of rajo guna. And tamas will follow. In agriculturists, rajo guna will be foremost, followed by tamo guna and then satva guna.

Since we cannot escape the pressure of these three gunas, then where is the question of any activity being useless and dropping it?
Swami Bhoomananda Tirtha