Skip to main content


Showing posts from December 24, 2009

Purva Phalguni Nakshatra 2012 time and dates - Poorvaphalguni Nakshatram in 2012

Purva Phalguni Nakshatram, also known as Poorvaphalguni or Puram in South India, is the eleventh Nakshatra among the 27 Nakshatras. Below are Purvaphalguni Nakshatra time and dates in 2012. The astrological prediction of the birth star Purva Phalguni Nakshatra as per Moon Sign is that of Simha Rashi (Leo Zodiac). Surya or sun is the Lord of the Raasi. The color of Purvaphalguni is light brown. Purvaphalguni Nakshatra Time and Days in 2012 as per Indian Standard Time (IST)

Lunar Eclipse June 26, 2010 Time in Sydney and Melbourne – Chandra Grahan June 2010 Timing in Australia

A partial lunar eclipse, Chandra Grahan, will be taking place from evening to night on June 26, 2010 and is visible in Sydney, Melbourne and eastern parts of Australia. The time of the eclipse in Brisbane, Melbourne and Sydney on June 26, 2010 is from 20:17 hrs to 23:00 hrs. The partial eclipse is also visible in New Zealand. Hindu Panchangs in India have not given much importance to this eclipse and as it is not visible in India.Lunar Eclipse June 26, 2010 Time in Australia – based on local Australia Time

Names of the 18 Puranas in Hinduism

Hindu Puranas are Holy Scriptures and are a combination of legend and history and deals with creation, destruction and renewal of the universe. They also contain stories and teachings based on the principles of Vedas and Upanishads. The reason for observing certain rituals in Hinduism and the origin of most of the important Hindu festivals are found in the Puranas. There are 18 Puranas in Hinduism. They are as follows: Vishnu PuranaNaradiya PuranaPadma PuranaGaruda PuranaVaraha PuranaBhagavata PuranaMatsya PuranaKurma PuranaLinga PuranaVayu Purana (in some texts Vayu Purana is replaced with Shiva Purana as the scholars consider it as part of Linga Purana).Skanda PuranaAgni PuranaBrahmanda PuranaBrahmavaivarta PuranaMarkandeya PuranaBhavishya PuranaVamana PuranaBrahma Purana Apart from this there are also several other Upa-Puranas or minor Puranas. You may also like to read Lord Shiva in Hindu Puranas

Sashti Viratham 2010 – Shashti Vrat

Sashti Viratham, or Shashti Vrat is observed on the sixth day of the waxing phase of moon (Shukla Paksha) in a Hindu month as per traditional calendar. Below are the Sashti Viratham 2010 dates and along with the annual Kanda Shashti fasting days based on Panchangam. This fasting is highly auspicious and is dedicated to Lord Muruga. There are two Sashti in a month and devotees of Muruga observe partial or full fast on the Shashti occurring after the no moon (Amavasya).

Dnyaneshwari in English Online with Meaning – Bhagavad Gita in Marathi by Sant Dnyaneshwar Maharaj

Sant Dnyaneshwar Maharaj is one of the greatest saints of Maharashtra and it is his Marathi commentary of Bhagavad Gita, the Dnyaneshwari that is read and studied in homes in Maharashtra. At a very early age, Sant Dnyaneshwar Maharaj wrote this masterpiece, and in Dnyaneshwari, He uses similes, metaphors and illustrations to convey the message of Lord Krishna to common people. In his Dnyaneshwari, he calls the Gita the literary image of Lord Krishna.
You can read all the 18 chapters of Dnyaneshwari in English with meaning here at the official website of Bhavan’s Pune – Dnyaneshwari in English Online with Meaning

Magha Nakshatra 2012 dates and time – Magham Nakshatram in 2012

Magha Nakshatram, also known as Magh or Magham in South India, is the tenth Nakshatra among the 27 Nakshatras. Below are Magha Nakshatra time and dates in 2012. The astrological prediction of Magha Nakshatra as per Moon Sign is that of Simha Rashi (Leo Zodiac). Surya or Sun is the Lord of the Raasi. The color of Ashlesha is Ivory or Cream.

Sri Chinmoy Thoughts on Ingratitude and Gratitude

Ingratitude is not our inability to acknowledge the gifts we receive from others. Ingratitude is our deliberate unwillingness to acknowledge the gifts we receive from others. Gratitude is receptivity, the receptivity that acknowledges others' gifts, others' love and concern. Each time we express gratitude, we expand our hearts.When we cultivate our gratitude-heart, we get the opportunity to sow our pure love there. This pure love grows into true concern, and true concern eventually becomes inseparable oneness.Ingratitude is nothing but a sense of inferiority, an inferiority complex. The gifts we get from others we do not want to acknowledge. We are afraid to expose ourselves to others.Ingratitude, impurity and the doubting mind go together. It is impurity that divides and separates us and does not allow us to have the feeling of oneness or gratitude. And this impurity unconsciously or consciously is treasured by the doubtful mind. Gratitude, purity and the loving heart always …

Latest Posts