--> Skip to main content

Names of the 18 Puranas in Hinduism

Hindu Puranas are Holy Scriptures and are a combination of legend and history and deals with creation, destruction and renewal of the universe. They also contain stories and teachings based on the principles of Vedas and Upanishads. The reason for observing certain rituals in Hinduism and the origin of most of the important Hindu festivals are found in the Puranas. There are 18 Puranas in Hinduism. They are as follows:
  1. Vishnu Purana
  2. Naradiya Purana
  3. Padma Purana
  4. Garuda Purana
  5. Varaha Purana
  6. Bhagavata Purana
  7. Matsya Purana
  8. Kurma Purana
  9. Linga Purana
  10. Vayu Purana (in some texts Vayu Purana is replaced with Shiva Purana as the scholars consider it as part of Linga Purana).
  11. Skanda Purana
  12. Agni Purana
  13. Brahmanda Purana
  14. Brahmavaivarta Purana
  15. Markandeya Purana
  16. Bhavishya Purana
  17. Vamana Purana
  18. Brahma Purana
Apart from this there are also several other Upa-Puranas or minor Puranas.
You may also like to read