--> Skip to main content


Showing posts from June 23, 2021

Vedanga Jyotisha

Vedanga Jyotisha is one of the earliest treatises on Hindu astronomy. It is believed that Vedanga Jyotisha text was written in 1300 BCE. The work is a collection of separate treatises connected with Rig Veda and Yajur Veda. These treatises arose as a supplement to determine the auspicious time for performance of rites. The third shloka of Vedanga Jyotisha says “Vedas are revealed for the sake of performing Vedic rites, which are laid down in order of time. Hence, he who knows Jytoisha Shastra knows Yagna. Vedanga Jyotisha is found in two recensions, namely, Rig Veda Jyotisha and Yajur Veda Jyotisha. Rig Veda Jyotisha contains 36 shlokas. Yajur Veda Jyotisha contains 40 shlokas, of which thirty are common, with slight variations in wordings at places. Vedanga Jyotisha is essentially an exposition on positional astronomy, a discipline dealing with astronomical delineation of sun and moon and their movement in the sky among constellations, division of time, and length of days durin

Kariyathan – Hindu God Worshipped In North Kerala

Kariyathan is popular Hindu god worshipped in North Kerala. He is a deity worshipped by hunters and those going for hunting into forests. Thus Kariyathan is a Nayattu Devata. ‘Nayattu’ means hunting. In some regions, he is a forest god (Vanamurti). In Keralolpathi text he is referred to as Eerpalli Daivam. Eerpallis were special designated areas for villagers to meet and decide important issues. As per Keralolpathi text, each village in Kerala had a eerpalli. Other eerpalli daivams mentioned in Keralolpathi are Vettakkorumakan, Kannilkkarumakan, Thalachilayon, Ayyan, Bemmurikkan, Kirimurikkan, and Thanniyadan. It is believed that all these deities are Shiva Bhootas. Eerpallis had a sacred grove attached to them – they were known as nayattu vanam. It is believed that during the course of time Eerpallis became sacred groves and temples. Kariyathan temples are mostly found in Kozhikode district (especially in Koyilandy and Chelannur) and Kannur district. Two of the famous Kariyath

Sat Chit Ananda - That Is Our True Nature

You are real. What you appear to be is false. Identify with the real, not with the false. Do not accept anything you see as reality. The only freedom you've got is to turn within. One day you will awaken from this dream, for this is also a dream, and you will be free. There is no such thing as birth, and there is no such thing as death. Nobody is born, no one dies, and no one prevails in between. Nothing that appears exists. Only the Self exists. All this is the Self, and "I am That". You are absolute reality, ultimate oneness. You are consciousness, emptiness, Sat chit ananda. That is your true nature. Why not abide in it and be free? Empty your mind. Become still, and everything will happen of its own accord. There is really nothing you have to do. Just be still. ‘Be still and know that I am God.’ I am as the Self! Accept that and be free. Why do you think of other things? Why concern yourself with the body? Or your mind? Or the world? Quit trying to solve probl

30 June 2021 Tithi - Panchang - Hindu Calendar - Good Time - Nakshatra – Rashi

Tithi in Panchang – Hindu Calendar on Wednesday, 30 June 2021 – It is Krishna Paksha Sashti Tithi or the sixth day during the waning or dark phase of moon in Hindu calendar and Panchang in most regions. It is Krishna Paksha Sashti Tithi or the sixth day during the waning or dark phase of moon till 4:32 PM on June 30. Then onward it is Krishna Paksha Saptami Tithi or the seventh day during the waning or dark phase of moon till 4:54 PM on July 1. (Time applicable in all north, south and eastern parts of India. All time based on India Standard Time.  Good – Auspicious time on June 30, 2021 as per Hindu Calendar – There is no good and auspicious time on the entire day.  Nakshatra  – Shatashibha or Sadayam or Chathayam Nakshatra till 4:57 AM on June 30. Then onward it is Purva Bhadrapada or Pooruruttathi Nakshatra till 5:45 AM on July 1. (Time applicable in north, south and eastern parts of India).  In western parts of India (Maharashtra, Gujarat, Goa, north Karnataka and sou