Skip to main content


Showing posts from August 23, 2008

Ashta Vinayak Temples – eight Swayambhu form of Ganesha

Ashta Vinayak is the eight swayambhu (self made or naturally formed) forms of Lord Ganesh on earth. The Ashta Vinayak temples are located in eight places in Maharashtra, India. The idol of Lord Ganesh in these temples is formed on a single large stone. The form of Vinayaka can be clearly recognized on the stone. It is believed that Lord Ganesha appeared at these eight places. Ashta Vinayak or the eight SwayambhuTemples dedicated to Lord Ganesh in Maharashtra are:
Mayureshwar or MoreshwarTemple: Located along the banks of KarhaRiver in Morgaon village in Pune District, Lord Ganesh is known as Mayureshwar or Moreshwar. Ganesha is here depicted as riding a peacock. It is believed that Lord Ganesha appeared in this form to destroy a demon named Sindhu. Morgaon village is located in Baramati Taluk and is around 55 km southeast of Pune city.
ChintamaniVinayakTemple:ChintamaniGaneshTemple is located in Theur in Pune District. It is believed that Lord Ganesha took the form of Chintamani to get…