--> Skip to main content


Showing posts from March 31, 2020

Eighth Day of Navratri October 22, 2023 Dedicated to Goddess Maha Gowri form of Durga

The eighth day of Navratri of great significance and is dedicated to the Goddess Maha Gowri. She is worshipped on October 22, 2023 during Sharad Navratri. During Chaitra Navratri She is worshipped on March 29, 2023. Goddess Durga is worshipped in the form of Maha Gouri. Gowri or Gouri is another name of Goddess Parvati. The day is also the second day of Saraswati Puja during Navratri. Durga Ashtami Puja is held on this day in Bengal, Orissa and other parts of India . Goddess Bagala, Narayani and Bhadrakali form of Durga are also worshipped on this day in many parts of India . In Maha Gowri form, Goddess Durga is depicted as having four hands and she rides a Bull. In this form, Gowri is believed to have done penance to get Lord Shiva as husband. Durga Ashtami Puja is observed on this day in many parts of India mainly in Bengal, Orissa, Jharkhand and other eastern parts of India . Bagala and Narayani form of Durga is worshipped mainly in Gujarat and Maharashtr

How Draupadi Died In The Mahabharata?

At the end of their rule, Pandavas decided to retire. It was time for them to bid good bye to civilization. Draupadi died during the final journey of Pandavas and it is mentioned in the Mahaprasthanika Parva. Draupadi followed her husbands to the great snow-clad mountains in the Himalayas. Draupadi slipped and fell as they started climbing the Himalayas. Bhima soon realized that Draupadi was about die. He asked to Yudhisthira as to why Draupadi had fallen as she never did anything evil. Yudhisthira told Bhima that Draupadi had reaped the fruits of her actions. She was partial to Arjuna. She desired Karna. She manipulated Bhima. The brothers who had decided to give up all ties climbed the mountain leaving Draupadi behind. Draupadi died soon.

Bhrumadhya Drishti

Bhrumadhya Drishti is fixing the eyes on an object in the practice of Yoga. Bhru in Sanskrit means an eye brow. Dhrishti means sight. Bhrumadhya means the space between the eyebrows, particualry the middle point between them. In Yogic practices it indicates ‘gaze’ or ‘fixing the eyes’ on an object, which may be located inside the body, e.g. chakras (the energy centers) situated along the spine, or it may be an external object like the tip of the nose or the midpoint between the eyebrows. ‘Inner graze’ and ‘outer gaze’ are the two forms of drishti. Bhrumadhya Drishti (the space between the eyebrows) is the location of the sixth lotus in the ascending order called ajna chakra. It is the seat of the mind. Fixing the gaze helps to arrest the movements of the mind and makes it steady in laya (a state of tranquility). When the mind and breath are silenced together with pranayama (a sustained practice of breath control), inside the vacuum in the ajna chakra called bhrumadhya

Seventh Day of Navratri October 21, 2023 Dedicated to Kalaratri form of Durga

Kalaratri form of Durga is worshipped on the seventh day of Navratri. She is worshipped on October 21, 2023 during Sharad Navratri. During Chaitra Navratri, She is worshipped on March 28, 2023. The day also marks the beginning of worship of Goddess Saraswathi during Navaratri in many parts of India . Goddess Durga is also worshipped as Dhoomavati and Jagdamba in some regions of India on the seventh day. Kalaratri is the one of the fiercest forms of Durga and her appearance itself evokes fear. Kalaratri is depicted as having four hands and her vehicle, or mount, is a donkey. She can curse and bless and is known to create havoc. This form primarily depicts that life also has a negative side – Tamas. The three day worship of Goddess Saraswati during Navratri also begins on this day. Durga Maha Saptami Puja is held in Bengal, Orissa, Jharkhand and other eastern parts of India on this day. Dhoomavati and Jagdamba forms of Durga are worshipped on this day ma

Two Paths of Renunciation

It is true, without renunciation immortality cannot be attained. But the sages have prescribed two paths for arriving at the goal of renunciation. Those who have known the transiency of the world and are free from all physical cravings give up everything and embrace the life of monasticism. This is the path of negation. In this path the spiritual aspirant is aware of his goal from the very beginning and consequently renounces the popular view of the world and life that makes one forget the reality. But there is the other path that is equally true and equally helpful in leading aspirants to the highest goal. This is known as the path of affirmation. Those who follow this path do not have to renounce everything from the very start. The mind is attached to various objects of the senses. It refuses to come under control. What will mere restraint do? These spiritual aspirants may enjoy a few things of the world, slowly learn to become detached, and gradually rise up to the heigh