Skip to main content


Showing posts from March 14, 2016

Why Kamdev is known as Ananga?

Ananga is one among the numerous names of Kamdev, Hindu God of Love. After the death of Sati at Daksha Yajna, Lord Shiva entered into deep and intense meditation in the Himalayas. He was no longer interested in the world.

Demons took advantage of the situation and got the boon that only a son of Shiva would annihilate them.

Devas were in deep trouble because of this. Devas and saints took refuge at the feet of Brahma who told that the only solution for this problem was to bring back Lord Shiva to the world and stop his penance.

Brahma asked the gods to take the help of Kamdev to stop the penance by creating sexual desire and passion in Lord Shiva.

Kamdev arrived in front of Shiva along with Rati Devi, and shot five arrows of flowers at the heart of Shiva.

Shiva’s Tapas was interrupted. He was terribly angry and from his third eye, a fierce blazing flame appeared and burned Kamdev into ashes.

Rati Devi was inconsolable at the death of her husband. She asked Shiva as to what will happ…

Gorupini Sashti in Bengal

Gorupini Sashti is observed during the Shashti (sixth day) falling during the waxing phase of moon in Bengali Phalgun month (February – March). Gorupini Sashti 2018 date is Feb 21. This Shasti is dedicated to Goddess Sashti, who is the protector of children. She is also believed to be the consort of Lord Kartikeya.

Twelve forms of Goddess Shasti are worshipped in a year on the sixth day of Shukla Paksha. The form that is worshipped in Phalgun month is that of Gorupini.

Gorupini Sashti is one of the peaceful forms of Mother Goddess and she looks after and protects infants and young children. She is prayed to for the welfare of infants – she is believed to protect children from diseases and other physical damages.

Tretagni in Hindu Rituals

The term tretagni in Hindu rituals refers to the group of three fires. They are Grahapatyagni, Dakshinagni and Ahavaniyagni. The three fires must be kindled in the house of an agnihotrin. Tretagni is also known as Srantagni.

Grahapatya fireplace is mostly circular in shape and on rare occasion, it is square shaped. It is set up on the western side.
Ahavaniya fireplace is always square shaped. It is set up on the eastern side of Grahapatya.

Dakshinagni or Anuvaharyapacana fireplace is always in the shape of a semicircular. It is always set up in the southern side.

Though the shapes are different, the area is always the same for all the three.

The establishment of Tretagni is mentioned in the Vedic texts.

The distance between the three sacred fireplaces varies from scripture to scripture.

The Grahapatya fire is considered to be prana breath, Ahavaniya apana breath and Dakshinagni is vyana breath.

Charoli 2018 date

Charoli is the Holi festival in villages in Uttarakhand. The festival celebrates the arrival of the spring season after the harsh winter. Charoli 2018 date is March 2. The main celebration involves playing with colors and distribution of sweets.

The winter is very harsh in villages in Uttarakhand. Charoli marks the beginning of the new farming season and of many activities.

Words of Wisdom – Mother Meera

Be like a child – clear, loving, spontaneous, infinitely flexible and ready each moment to wonder and accept miracle.

There are so many meditation techniques. Generally they confuse people. Quite often they increase people’s spiritual pride instead of destroying it. The proud man is far from God. You have to be very careful. The best way is to remember the Divine in everything and to offer everything to the Divine.

People are too active and rarely sit quietly. In silence one can receive more because all one’s activities become concentrated at one point.

The power of the Divine works in the silence and will change things according to your aim and what you ask for.

Paramatman is infinite light and the source of all, of being, knowledge, bliss, of peace, of each atman, each soul.

Related Mother Meera on Japa – repetition of sacred names or mantras