Skip to main content


Showing posts from July 25, 2015

Ashta Dikpalas – the eight Hindu deities that protect the eight quarters of the world

In Hinduism, Ashtadikpalas, or Ashta Dik Palas, are the eight deities that guard the eight quarters of the world. They are popularly known as Dikpalas – the protectors of the quarters – or Lokpalas – the protectors the world. They are also mentioned as the guardian deities of the sky. The Ashta Dikpalas are mentioned in the following order:
East – Indira on Airavata – the white elephant. Sometimes Indira is depicted as sitting on a horse named Ucchaisravas. South East – Agni on Mesha (the male goat). South – Yama on Mahisha (the male buffalo). South West – Nirurti on Ashwa (horse). West – Varuna on Makara (the crocodile). North West – Vayu on Mruga (the spotted deer). North – Kubera on Nara (Man) North East – Isana on Vrishbha (bull)

Dharmapuri Temple – Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy Temple at Dharmapuri in Karimnagar District in Telangana

Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy Temple at Dharmapuri is unique with the presence of two murtis (idols) of Lord Lakshmi Narasimha Swamy. Dharmapuri Temple located near the banks of Godavari River was a spiritual center from ancient days. The temple is a center associated with Vedic Brahmins.

There are two sets of murtis worshipped in the Dharmapuri Temple. Pata Narasimha Swamy – the old murti Kotha Narasimha Swamy – the new murti
Both the murtis are worshipped in the shrine along with Goddess Lakshmi. The shrine has got gopurams with sculptures.
The pond located in the temple complex is very famous. Panchasahasra Deepalankarana, the lighting of 5000 lamps on the steps of the holy pond, is annually held on Kartik Purnima.
Dharmapuri Temple Timings
Morning Darshan Hours 5 AM to 7 AM Suprabatha Seva 7 AM to 9 AM Abhishekam 9 AM to 10 AM Darshan 10 AM to 10:30 AM Nitya Homam 10:30 AM to 11:30 AM Nitya Kalyanam 11:30 AM to 2 PM Vishesharchana and  Maharchana Darshan 2PM TO 4PM - Temple Remain Closed Evening Da…

Story of Goddess Durga and Demon Durgama

There are numerous stories regarding how Mother Goddess Shakti came to be called Goddess Durga. One such story states that Goddess got the name Durga after annihilating the demon Durgama. Legend has it Asura Durgama was born in the lineage of Hiranyakashipu and Hiranyaksha.
Durgama soon realized that the reason for the invincibility of Devas and Saints is Vedas. So he did intense penance with aim to steal Vedas. Brahma could no longer ignore the intense Tapas of Durgamma and appeared before him.
The demon asked Brahma for the total control of Vedas and also that he will not be killed by gods, men, gandharvas, yakshas, nagas or animals. Brahma granted the boon.
Soon Durgama took control over the Vedas and hid it in a cave in the Himalayas. Saints forgot all the mantras and Devas started to lose their powers. Soon Durgama and his forces overpowered heaven.
With Vedas gone there was no havan or japa or yajna as a result there was total chaos in all the worlds.
All saints assembled and p…

Deva Sayani Ekadasi Vrat Katha – Dev Sayani Ekadashi Story

Devasayani Ekadashi Vrat Katha, or the story associated with Deva Sayni, was first narrated by Lord Brahma to Narada. The story was later told to Yudhishtira by Lord Krishna and is found in the Bhavisyottara Purana.
Legend has it that once there lived a pious King named Mandata and he ruled over a highly prosperous kingdom.
But the prosperity of the kingdom was once affected by lack of rain for three years. There was widespread famine the kingdom. No farming activity was taking place in the kingdom.
There is a popular belief that a kingdom suffers due to the sinful activity of the King. But King Mandata was not able to find what fault he had committed to invite the wrath of Narayana, who is believed to produce the rains.
The king decided to go on a journey and he met several holy men and discussed the problem but none of them offered any solutions. Finally, King Mandata met Sage Angira who suggested that the King should not worry about the reason for no rain but should try to find …

Tanha Pola - Festival of Wooden Bulls by Children

Tanha Pola festival, festival of wooden bulls by children, is dedicated to the cows and ox and is observed mainly in Maharashtra and parts of Madhya Pradesh the day after Shravan Amavasi (no moon day in Sawan month) as per traditional lunar calendar in Maharashtra. Tanha Pola 2018 date is September 9. Farmers pay respect to bullocks and cows on the day as cattle is their main source of livelihood.
In Nagpur and other regions in Vidarbha, a wooden replica of the bull is taken around the streets. Children also make small replica of bulls and place it near the streets.

An elaborate worship (puja) is performed on the replica of bulls made by children and adults in Nagpur.
King Raje Raghujirao Bhonsle-II of Nagpur started the Tanha Pola in 1806 AD for children. The main aim was to make children aware of the importance of livestock and agriculture activity which is the backbone of the region.
Today, during the Tanha Pola period, markets in Vidarbha region are filled with replicas of bulls.…

Mahakal ki Shahi Sawari in Bhadrapad Month at Ujjain Mahakal Temple

Mahakal ki Shahi Sawari is a special procession that is taken out in Bhadrapad month in the Ujjain Mahakal Temple dedicated to Hindu God Shiva. These special rituals are held on first two Mondays or Somwar in Bhadrapad. Mahakal ki Shahi Sawari 2018 dates in Bhadrapad month are August 27 and September 3.
Special processions of the murti of Lord Shiva are held on the first two Mondays of Bhadrapad in the surrounding of the Ujjain Mahakal Temple. Thousands of people arrive to witness this unique ritual.
Please note that Mahakal ki Shahi Sawari is also held on all Mondays in Shravan month.

Hiranyagarbha in Hinduism - Concept of Hiranyagarbha or the Golden Egg

The concept of Hiranyagarbha or gold egg is found in the Vedas and it is a unique way of looking at creation. As per Vedas, the entire universe in un-manifested form is found in the Hiranyagarbha.
It is the soul of the universe and floated around in emptiness and darkness. Then it broke into two halves. The top half is the heaven. The bottom half is the earth. The intervening space is the sky.
The outer membrane of the Golden Egg became mountains. The inner membrane of the egg became clouds and mists.
The veins of the egg became rivers and streams and the interior waters of the egg became the oceans.
Hiranyagarbha has deep symbolic meaning attached to it. We are yet to understand the true symbolism of Hiranyagarbha. Each one of us must make an attempt to realize what it is. Perhaps in the search we might get purified and realize the Supreme Truth.