Skip to main content


Showing posts from November 20, 2014

Char Dham of Vishnu – The Four Most Sacred Places of Associated with Lord Vishnu

Char Dham, or Chaar Dhaams, are the sacred temples dedicated to Lord Vishnu or his incarnations (avatars). The four sacred places are Badrinath, Rameshwaram, Puri, and Dwarka. The Char Dhams are located in the North, South, East and West of India. Since the four sacred places are spread across the country, the Char Dham ‘thirthyatra’ is known as the Mahaparikrama.

It must be noted here that there is another famous Char Dham yatra that is the Char Dham in the Himalayas. Kedarnath, Badrinath, Gangotri and Yamunotri located in Uttarakhand. These temple remains only for six months.
The Char Dham of Vishnu are the four pilgrim sites that most Hindus wish to go when they decide upon a tirtha yatra.
In North India, in Badrinath in Uttarakhand, Narayana is worshipped in the form of Lord Vishnu.
In West, in Dwarka in Gujarat, Vishnu is worshipped in the form of Lord Krishna.
In South, in Rameshwaram in Tamil Nadu, Vishnu is worshipped in the form of Lord Rama.
In East, in Puri in Orissa, …

Yoga Nidra of Lord Vishnu – the cosmic sleep in Hindu Scriptures

In Hinduism, the cosmic dissolution (Mahapralaya) takes place when the cosmos goes beyond redemption due to destruction of Dharma ( as in the present period which is characterized by lack of moral and ethical values). This is not an end but a positive change or death before rebirth. This cycle is repeated endless times.
After the cosmic dissolution, there is a period of stillness. Vishnu reclines over the still cosmic waters on the endless coils of the serpent Ananta Sesha, which represents Time.
Everything that existed before the Mahapralaya lies around Him in the still primeval waters. This cosmic sleep is known as Yoga Nidra. Here He is focused on the Infinite Reality of His own identity.

Yoga Nidra ends with beginning of the next cycle of creation.
The next cycle of creation is symbolically represented by a lotus with Brahma seated on it that rises out of His navel.

Story of Pandavas and Seven Aravalli Sisters – Legend in Tamil Nadu

Seven Aravalli sisters lived during the Mahabharata period in present day Tamil Nadu and ruled the region known as Aravalli Pattinam. They were famous for witchcraft and they used sorcery and witchcraft to terrorize people. The story of Pandavas and seven Aravalli Sisters is a local legend narrated to explain the glory of Goddess Vanabhadrakali Amman.
Aravalli, Sooravalli, Veeravalli and 4 other sisters ruled the region by terrorizing the inhabitants. They remained unconquered and their arrogance and atrocities reached the ears of Bhagvan Sri Krishna. He requested the Pandavas to defeat the sisters.
Bhima, the second of the Pandavas, agreed to take up the mission and moved towards the kingdom of Aravalli sisters. But Sage Narada tipped the sisters about the arrival of Bhima.
Meanwhile, Bhima was passing through a thick forest. The sisters used their witchcraft and created numerous carnivorous animals like tiger, lion, bear and crocodile. All the animals were killed by Bhima using h…

Dakshin Kashi Wai in Satara in Maharashtra - Temples and Ghats at Wai

Wai, which is located around, 33 km from Satara in Maharashtra is known as Dakshin Kashi or the Kashi of South. The place gets the name ‘Dakshin Kashi’ thanks to ghats and temples which make the place look like a replica of Kashi (Varanasi). There are seven important ghats at Wai and more than 100 temples.

If it is GangaRiver at Varanasi, it is KrishnaRiver at Wai.
Ghats, steps, at Wai are located on the KrishnaRiver and it is the most famous feature that it shares with Kashi. There are several minor ghats and numerous small temples – many of them are small and badly maintained.
The most famous temple at Wai is not dedicated to Shiva like in Varanasi but to his son Ganesha. The temple is referred to as MahaganapatiTemple or Dholya Ganapati. The temple has one of the largest Ganesha murti in Maharashtra – nearly 10 feet tall and 8 feet wide.
There is also a KashiVishweshwarTemple on the banks of Krishna at Wai. The temple is noted for its huge Nandi and Deepasthamb – two lamp posts.

Pampa Ganapathy Temple – Ganapati Temple at the Base of Sabarimala Mountain on the banks of Pamba River

PampaGanapathyTemple, also known as Pampa Ganapati Kovil, is dedicated to Ganesha. This is the first temple and holy spot on the way from Pamba to Sannidanam – the SabarimalaAyyappaTemple. Prayers are offered here for a safe trek to Sannidanam.

The main offering at PampaGanapathiTemple is coconut. Devotees break a coconut here before climbing the mountain. Devotees visiting the AyyappaTemple should carry an extra coconut to break it at this shrine.
The temple also has subsidiary shrines dedicated to Nagarajavu (Serpent deity), Goddess Parvati Devi, Adimoola Ganapati, Hanuman Swami, and Bhagvan Sri Ram.
The river bank or arat kadavu in front of the Ganapathi Temple at Pampa is the spot where the utsava murti of Ayyappa from Sannidanam is taken for ceremonial purification at the end of 10-day Sabarimala Ayyappa Temple festival (March – April).
On the same day after the purification ritual, the utsava murti or procession idol of Lord Ayyappa is taken to the namaskara mandapam of the Pamp…

Plant Your Birth Star Tree – Janmanakshatra Vrikshaparipalana by Travancore Devaswom Board

Janmanakshatra Vrikshaparipalana is a green initiative by the Travancore Devaswom Board (TDB) in Kerala. As part of the program, a devotee can join the scheme to plant his or her birth star tree. Travancore Devaswom Board (TDB) would plant and nurture the tree in the temples maintained by Travancore Devaswom Board.
Those who wish to join the green initiative can get more information about the project here in this website.
The directions to take part in the scheme are also available at Sabarimala Devaswom Development Project office.

Absence of self knowledge is known as ignorance or delusion – Yoga Vasistha

Absence of self knowledge is known as ignorance or delusion.
When the self is known one reaches the shores of limitless intelligence.
The individual is nothing more than the personalized mind.
Individuality ceases when that mind ceases; it remains as long as the notion of personality remains.
So long as there is a pot there is also the notion of a space enclosed within or confined to that pot; when it is broken, the infinite space alone is, even where the pot space was imagined before.
Liberation is attained when one arrives at the state of supreme peace after intelligent enquiry into the nature of the self and after this has brought about an inner awakening.
Yoga Vasistha

Mundan Muhurat in 2015 - Chudakarm Sanskar date and time in 2015

Chudakarm Sanskar, or Mundan ceremony, is the auspicious ritual in which a child’s head is shaved for the first time. Below are the auspicious dates – Mundan Muhurat – in 2015. The ceremony is performed for the long life of the child. Mundan Muhurat 2015 dates are based on Hindu calendar and panchang followed in Delhi, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Chhattisgarh and Jammu and Kashmir.
January 22 January 23
February 23, 2015
March 5, 2015 March 12, 2015
April 15, 2015 April 23, 2015
May 7, 2015 May 20, 2015 May 22, 2015
No Mundan Muhurat in June 2015
No Mundan Muhurat in July 2015
No Mundan Muhurat in August 2015
No Mundan Muhurat in September 2015
No Mundan Muhurat in October 2015
No Mundan Muhurat in November 2015
No Mundan Muhurat in December 2015
Please note that in those months when there are no mundan muhurat people perform it on auspicious days in the month.