Skip to main content


Showing posts from November 22, 2013

Kerala Naming Ceremony Dates in 2014 – Peridal or Naming Ceremony Dates for Baby in 2014 in Malayalam Panchang and Calendar

Peridal or Naming Ceremony Dates in 2014 based on Malayalam Panchang and Calendar followed in Kerala. Peridal is the naming ceremony of baby. Kerala Hindu calendar is different from the calendars followed in other regions in India especially in North India. Naming Ceremony Dates in 2014 in Kerala  in 2014 is given below. This Panchang and calendar dates are to give an idea. Kerala Naming Ceremony Dates in 2014 January 20 January 31
February 1 February 11 February 27
March 10 March 27
April 4 April 6 April 9 April 13 April 20 April 25
May 4 May 30
July 31
August 1 August 2 August 4
September 20 September 22
October 13
November 9 November 20
A local astrologer might be able to find an auspicious period on other days in 2014; especially a short period of time on a day.  The entire day might not be good but a short time he might be able to locate.

Goddess Vishalakshi – About Goddess Vishalakshi

Vishalakshi is the consort of Vishwanath Shiva and is a manifestation of Mother Goddess Shakti. Vishalakshi means the ‘wide eyed.’ She is the founding goddess of Kashi. The most important temple dedicated to Goddess Vishalakshi is located in Varanasi.
The popular belief is that Vishalakshi Devi Shrine in Kashi or Varanasi is located in the spot where face of Goddess Sati fell. Some people believe that the shrine is located in the spot where the earring fell. Shiva was carrying the body of Sati who died in Daksha Yajna. Due to this all creation stopped and there was havoc in the universe. To stop this situation, Bhagavan Vishnu cut the body of Sati with Chakra and the places where Sati’s body fell became Shakti Peetahs.
In most places where Shiva is worshipped as Vishwanath, the name of the consort is usually Vishalakshi.
Goddess Vishalakshi is also worshipped in the famous Rameswaram Temple.

Kerala Hindu Marriage Dates 2014 in Malayalam Panchangam in 2014 – Vivaha Muhurtam as per Malayalam Calendar in 2014

Hindu marriage dates 2014 in Kerala as per Malayalam Panchangam is different from other regions as Kerala calendar is based on solar movment. Here are the marriage dates in 2014 as per Guruvayur Panchangam and Mathurbhumi Panchangam. There will be other Vivaha Muhurtam especially in Chinga Masam (August – September) but that will be for a short period and you will need the help of a local astrologer.
April 22, 2014
May 1, 2014 May 10, 2014
Nay 11 May 24, 2014 May 25, 2014 May 30, 2014
June 5, 2014
July 2, 2014 July 4, 2014
July 7 July 9, 2014
August 19
August 20 August 27, 2014
August 28
August 31
September 4, 2014
September 11

October 30, 2014

November 4, 2014

December 1, 2014
December 15

Dwapara Yuga Duration – What is the number of years of Dwapara Yuga?

Dwapara Yuga is the third of the four yugas in Hinduism. The duration or number of years in Dwapara Yuga is calculated differently – one has to convert the years of devas into the years of the human beings.
The Duration of Dwapara Yuga is 864,000 human years.
Its duration is 2400 years of the Gods.
A year of the gods is equal to 360 years of human beings.
Thus the duration of Dwapara Yuga is 864,000 human years.

About Paatha Sivalayam at One Town in Vijayawada – Sri Bhramaramba Malleswara Swamyvarla Devasthanam

Sri Bhramaramba Malleswara Swamyvarla Devasthanam, popularly known as Paatha Sivalayam, is a very popular shrine at OneTown in Vijayawada in Andhra Pradesh. The temple is noted for its four huge walls with 1008 notches for lighting of earthen lamps around the temple. It is believed that the temple was once.
The temple is dedicated to Shiva and Goddess Parvati is worshipped here as Goddess Bhramaramba. The Hindu writes about the temple  The temple campus extended up to Tarapet railway goods shed in East and up to Chitti Nagar Kothammavari temple in North. A Kala Bhairava idol was unearthed when the priests were performing a pooja to replace ‘Dhwaja sthambam’ a few decades ago. The temple has been renovated time and again by many rulers and also during the British period, says Rachakonda Kameswara Sarma in his book ‘Vijayawada Paatha Sivalayam sthala puranam’. The temple got its name Paata Sivalayam, which literally means Old Sivalayam, not merely because it is the oldest temple in th…

Insight – Swami Vivekananda

Language is the vehicle of ideas. It is ideas that are of prime importance, language comes after.
We are like cattle driven to the slaughter house hastily nibbling a bite of grass on the roadside as they are driven along under the whip.
A tremendous stream is flowing towards the ocean carrying us all along with it; and though like straws and scraps of paper we may at times float aimlessly about, in the long run we are sure to join the ocean of life and bliss.
We are responsible for what we are; and whatever we wish ourselves to be, we have the power to make ourselves. If what we are now has been the result of our own past actions, it certainly follows that whatever we wish to be in future can be produced by our present actions; so we have to know how to act.
Swami Vivekananda

Today’s Hindu Calendar – November 22, 2013 – Tithi, Vrat, Good Time, Nakshatra, Rashi and Festival

Tithi in Hindu Calendar on November 22, 2013 (Today) – Krishna Paksha Panchami Tithi or the fifth day during the waning phase of moon inHindu calendar and Panchang in all places. It is is Krishna Paksha Chaturthi Tithi or the fourth day during the dark phase of moon till 1:50 AM on November 22. Then onward it is Krishna Paksha Panchami Tithi or the fifth day during the dark phase of moon. All time based on India Standard Time.
Nakshatra – Punarvasu or Punirtham Nakshatra till 10:02 PM. Then onward it is Pushya or Poosam or Pooyam Nakshatram.
Rashi or Moon Sign – Mithuna Rashi till 3:22 PM. Then onward it is Karka Rashi.
Festivals, Vrat and Auspicious days –
Kali Yuga Year – 5115
Vikram Samvant 2070 – Margashirsh Krishna Paksha Panchami Tithi or the fifth day during the waning phase of moon in Margashirsh month in North India - Delhi, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Chhattisgarh, Orissa and Jammu and Kashmir.