Skip to main content


Showing posts from November 19, 2013

Nine Kinds of Devotional Service in the Bhagavad Purana

Srimad Bhagavad Purana mentions the nine kinds of devotional service. The nine activities constitute pure devotional service. They are:
Hearing about the transcendental name, form, qualities, paraphernalia, and pastimes of the Lord;Chanting about these things;Remembering them;Serving the lotus feet of the Lord;Offering the Lord respectful worship with incense, flowers, water, and so on;Offering prayers to the LordBecoming his servant;Considering the Lord one’s best friend;Surrendering everything unto Him.

Sarvartha Siddhi Yoga in January 2014 – Sarvartha Siddhi Yoga Date and Time in January 2014

Sarvartha Siddhi Yoga dates and time in January 2014 based on Hindu Panchang and calendar followed in North India. Sarvartha Siddhi Yoga is a good day for all ceremonies including moving into new house, opening of shops, buying gold, bikes and cars, booking of cars etc. as per Hindu panchang and calendar, especially those followed in North India. In January 2014, Sarvarta Siddhi Yoga dates are January 3, 7, 9, 13, 16, 22, and January 31. Below is the detail time for January 2014.
January 3, 2014 – 8:19 to 6:30 AM on January 4 (Sarvartha Siddhi Yoga) January 7 – sunrise to 1:59 AM on January 8 January 9 – sunrise to 1:53 AM on January 10 January 13 – sunrise to next day before sunrise January 16 – sunrise to next day before sunrise January 22 – sunrise to 11:45 PM January 31 – sunrise to 2:46 PM on January 31
Sarvartha Siddha Yoga occurs three or four times in a month and is only followed in North India.

Symbolism in the fighting between Devas and Asuras – Prakashananda

Often we read in Puranas descriptions of fighting between Devas and Asuras. Sometimes the Devas get the better, sometimes the Asuras. They may rightly be taken to be the representatives of two opposite forces — spiritual and material.
Since time immemorial fight has been going on between these two opposite forces in different planes of Nature. But this struggle is most marked in the human plane.
In man sometimes spiritual forces rise supreme and sometimes the material.
The first conquest of the spiritual over the material has always been the beginning of religion.
Religion does not consist in filling the mind with unhealthy, weak, sensational ideas, or in committing to memory all the philosophies of the world, or in getting some supernatural power, but in bringing the real man out by manifesting the divinity potential in all.
SourcePrabhuda Bharata August 1903.

Today’s Hindu Calendar – November 19, 2013 – Tithi, Vrat, Good Time, Nakshatra, Rashi and Festival

Tithi in Hindu Calendar on November 19, 2013 (Today) – Krishna Paksha Dwitiya Tithi or the second day during the waning phase of moon inHindu calendar and Panchang in all places. It is is Krishna Paksha Dwitiya Tithi or the second day during the dark phase of moon till 9:54 PM on November 19. Then onward it is Krishna Paksha Tritiya Tithi or the third day during the light phase of moon. All time based on India Standard Time.
Nakshatra – Rohini Nakshatra till 2:40 PM. Then onward it is Mrigasira or Makayiram Nakshatram.
Rashi or Moon Sign – Vrishabha Rasi.
Festivals, Vrat and Auspicious days –
Kali Yuga Year – 5115
Vikram Samvant 2070 – Margashirsh Krishna Paksha Dwitiya Tithi or the second day during the waning phase of moon in Margashirsh month in North India - Delhi, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Chhattisgarh, Orissa and Jammu and Kashmir.
Vijayanama Samvatsar/ Shalivahana Saka 1935 – Kartik Krishna Paksha Dw…