Skip to main content


Showing posts from June 29, 2013

On Shiva and Shivling – Brahma Kumaris

Brahma Kumaris organization teaching gives the symbolic meaning Shiva and Shivling:

The linga is worshipped as the very image of Shiva, indicating that Shiva has neither male nor female form. Shiva is invoked as an incorporeal point of light. That is why the 12 renowned Shiva Temples in India are also known as Jyotirlinga, signifying light.
The three-line mark on the Shivling known as Tripundi symbolizes the three-fold characteristics of the Trimurti, the lord of three subtle deities; Trinetri or the one who has the third eye of wisdom; Trikaldarshi or the one who surveys three aspects of time and Triloknath or the lord of the three worlds.
Shiva is also known as Shambhu or Swayambhu – the One who incarnates on his own, onto this Earth, or the One who cannot be created – and Sada Shiva meaning that he is the Supreme Soul.
The Sanskrit word Shiva, according to some scholars, is the confluence of two phonetic part, Shi and Va, meaning redeemer and liberator from sins and sufferings.


Today’s Hindu Calendar – June 29, 2013 – Tithi, Vrat, Good Time, Nakshatra, Rashi and Festival

Tithi in Hindu Calendar on June 29, 2013 (Today) – Krishna Paksha Saptami Tithi or the seventh day during the waning phase of moon in Hindu calendar and Panchang in all places. It is Krishna Paksha Sashti Tithi or the sixth day during the waning phase of moon till 4:32 AM. Then onward it is Krishna Paksha Saptami Tithi or the seventh day during the waning phase of moon. All time based on India Standard Time.
Nakshatra – Purvabhadra or Pooruruttathi Nakshatra till 7:27 PM. Then onward it is Uttarabhadra or Uthrittathi Nakshatram
Rashi or Moon Sign – Kumbha Rashi till 1:27 PM. Then onward it is Meena Rashi.
Festivals, Vrat and Auspicious days – 
Kali Yuga Year – 5115
Vikram Samvant 2070 - Ashada Krishna Paksha Saptami Tithi or the seventh day during the waning phase of moon in Ashada month in calendars followed in North India - Delhi, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Chhattisgarh, Orissa and Jammu and Kashmir.