Skip to main content


Showing posts from June 17, 2013

Aja in Hindu Religion

Aja is a term frequently used in Hindu scriptures. When used as a name in Hindu Religion it means unborn or eternal. Thus Aja is one of the names of Brahma, Vishnu, Shiva, Surya and Krishna.

Aja is also used to refer to Bija or Seed.
Aja is also the combined name given to a group of sages who obtained moksha through self discipline. This is mentioned by Yudhishtira in the Mahabharata in the Shanti Parva.
Aja also means goat and is the vehicle of Agni, the Hindu god of fire. Aja is a male Goat. In Rig Veda, the animal is associated with Pushan.
Aja is also one of the kings who ruled Ayodhya. He is the grand father of Sri Ram and father of Dasharatha.
Numerous other deities, demi gods and demons are also called as Aja.

Vidurashwatha Temple History and Story

VidurashwathaTemple history is very unique and the story is interesting. The temple is associated with Vidura of Mahabharata. Vidura was the uncle of Pandavas and Kauravas and a good councilor to Dhrthirashtra. There is a holy pipal tree in the courtyard of the temple and the belief is that Vidura worshipped it with utmost devotion.
The pipal tree was planted during the Dwapara Yuga by Sage Maitreya. The worship of the Peepal tree was taken over by Vidura during his time. And the temple got the name VidurashwathaTemple.
The temple is dedicated to Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva. Apart from this the temple is also noted for numerous murtis of Nagas.

The pipal tree is believed to one of the oldest trees in the world and is known here as Shri Ashwathanarayana Swami. People believe that prayers offered to the tree are answered.

Holy Ice Shivling at the Amarnath Cave Shrine Melting Fast in 2013

Several newspapers and television channels are reporting that the holy Ice Shivling that formed in 2013 at the Amarnath Cave Shrine is melting fast. The 2-month long Amarnath Yatra is to begin on June 28, 2013. As per official reports, the height of Amarnath Shivling was 16 feet in 2013. It is being reported that nearly 40% of the Shivling has melted.
The melting of the holy Ice Shivalinga before the final prayer on Shravan Purnima also happened in 2007 and 2008.  Zee News reports The holy Shivling at the Amarnath cave has shrunk to almost half its actual size barely two weeks ahead of the commencement of the annual Hindu pilgrimage.  Reports claim that over 40% of the ice stalagmite has melted even before the yatra that begins June 28, raising questions over how the thousands of pilgrims who trek the treacherous mountainous ravines to reach the holy cave will be able to chance upon a ‘darshan’ of the same.Related
Amarnath Shivling Photos 2013

Every failure is a lesson for us to learn from – Mata Amritanandamayi

Never return anger with the same. An angry person needs to be calmed down, not aggravated.
Every failure is a lesson for us to learn from.
When we are knocked down, spirituality helps us get back on feet.
When understood deeply, painful experiences have a positive effect on our life.
Always have the attitude of a beginner. A beginner is open receptive and innocent like a child. Mata Amritanandamayi 

Today’s Hindu Calendar – June 17, 2013 – Tithi, Vrat, Good Time, Nakshatra, Rashi and Festival

Tithi in Hindu Calendar on June 17, 2013 (Today) – Shukla Paksha Ashtami and Navami Tithi or the eighth and ninth day during the waxing phase of moon inHindu calendar and Panchang in all places. It is Shukla Paksha Ashtami Tithi or the eighth day during the waxing phase of moon till 5:30 AM. Then onward it is Shukla Paksha Navami Tithi or the ninth day during the waxing phase of moon. All time based on India Standard Time.

Nakshatra – Uttaraphalguni or Uthiram Nakshatra till 9:52 AM. Then onward it is Hasta or Atham or Hastam Nakshatram.
Rashi or Moon Sign – Kanya Rashi.
Festivals, Vrat and Auspicious days – Mahesh Navami
Kali Yuga Year – 5115
Vikram Samvant 2070 - Jyeshta Shukla Paksha Ashtami and Navami or the eighth and ninth day during the waxing phase of moon in Jyeshta month in calendars followed in Delhi, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Chhattisgarh, Orissa and Jammu and Kashmir.
Vijayanama Samvatsar/ Sh…