Skip to main content


Showing posts from March 3, 2010

Four Important Temples Dedicated to Hindu God Vishnu – Chardham of Vishnu

Chardham includes four of the most sacred places associated with Lord Vishnu. This includes sacred temples dedicated to Hindu God Vishnu or his incarnations (avatars). The Chardham are Badrinath, Dwaraka, Puri and  Rameswaram . There is a popular belief that the Char Dhams are the favorite abodes of Lord Vishnu on earth. The Chardhams are located in the North, West, South and East of India. Since the four sacred places are spread across the country, the Chardham ‘thirthyatra’ is known as the Mahaparikrama.
Important note - It must be noted that the famous Chardham yatra held annually is to the Chardham in the Himalayas – Kedarnath, Badrinath, Gangotri and Yamunotri located in Uttarakhand.
The Chardham of Vishnu is the four holy places that most Vishnu devotees wish to go when they decide upon a Tirtha Yatra.
It is said that Lord Vishnu bathes in the AlakanandaRiver at Badrinath, dresses at Dwarka, eats meal at PuriJagannathTemple and rests at Rameswaram after completing his duty of p…

Swaminarayan Jayanti 2011 date

Swaminarayan Jayanti is the birth anniversary of the Bhagvan Shri Swaminarayan. Swaminarayan Jayanti 2011 date is April 12. The pious soul was born on Chaitra Shukla Paksha 9 in Vikram Samvat 1837 (3rd April 1781 AD) on the occasion of Ram Navami. Bhagvan Swaminarayan is the central figure of Swaminarayan sect and is an incarnation of the Supreme Being.
On the Swaminarayan Jayanti day, devotees observe nirjala upvaas (fasting without taking water). The entire day is celebrated by listening to the incidents in the life of Swaminarayan, reading scriptures and singing kirtans. On the day, at 10.10 p.m. – the time of incarnation – an ‘arati’ of the child form of Swaminarayan is performed in all temples (mandirs) in the world dedicated to Him. You may also like to read Swaminarayan Mandir in Atlanta

Madhukrishna Trayodashi 2017 date

Madhukrishna Trayodashi is dedicated to Lord Shiva. It is observed on the 13th day (Trayodashi) during the waning phase of the moon (Krishna Paksha) in the Phalgun or Falguna month. Madhukrishna Trayodashi 2017 date is March 26.

Madhukrishna Trayodashi is dedicated to Lord Shiva and some devotees undertake a partial fast on the day. Some Hindu devotees opt for a complete fast. The day is mainly observed in western part of India by some Hindu communities.

The upvaas and fasting on the 13th day is usually dedicated to Lord Shiva.

You may also like to read Trayodashi Vratas

Yoga Vasishta – Food for Thought

To the ignorant who have not known their Atma, their ceaseless cycles of pains-producing re-births reduce them to abject slavery and suffering ; but in those who have known their true Self, the Jnana light will dawn and all objects will be known as one. And through the enjoyment of their own Self the three, actor, action and instrument will shine (as one) in their Self.The mind will ever be tossed in the ocean of desires, being scorched by the fire of pains and devoured by the boa constrictor of anger. Losing all equilibrium through its in tense sufferings, it becomes quite oblivious of its own reality.It is this mind you should try to lift out of Maya, like an elephant sunk in mire. Oh Rama those are Rakshasas (demons) in the guise of men who do not relieve their minds reeling under the fiery poison of the terrible births and deaths as well as in the presence of their two enemies good and evil.Yoga Vasishta