Skip to main content

Pandharpur Yatra 2017 date – Pandarpur Yatra - Waari Schedule in 2017 in Maharashtra

The annual Pandharpur Yatra (Waari) to the famous Vithoba Temple at Pandharpur in Maharashtra from Dehu and Alandi attracts thousands of people and pilgrims known as warkaris. In 2016, Pandarpur Yatra date on Ashadi Ekadasi is on July 4, 2017. In 2017 schedule, the date of commencement of Tukaram Maharaj Palkhi from Dehu is June 16. Sant Dnyaneshwar Palkhi from Alandi begins on June 17, 2017. Pilgrims follow the Shri Tukaram Maharaj Palkhi from Dehu and Sant Dnyaneshwar Palkhi from Alandi, which is a 21-day travel by foot to Pandarpur.

The Pandarpur Yatra is a pilgrimage to the Vithoba Temple, also known as Vitthal Rukhmini Temple, which is dedicated to Lord Krishna. Pandharpur Ashadi Ekadasi Wari Yatra has been taking place for more than 700 years.

The main Pandarpur Yatra starts from the Sant Tukaram Temple at Dehu in Pune District. The warkaris or pilgrims follow the Tukaram Maharaj Palkhi procession. This main procession is joined by Sant Dnyaneshwar palkhi from Alandi near Pune. Numerous other palkhis from other towns and villages join the yatra on the way.

The pilgrimage ends on the Ekadasi day during the waxing phase of moon in the Ashada Month as per traditional Marathi calendar.

You can read more about Pandarpur Yatra in this article.

You may also like to read

Latest Posts