Skip to main content

Number of Palkis Participating in Pandarpur Yatra

Palkis, or Palanquins, are the indispensable part of Pandarpur Yatra. Footprints or Sandals of saints of a particular region are carried in the Palki. There is no exact count regarding the number of palkis taking place in the annual Pandarpur Yatra from Dehu and Alandi in Pune to Pandarpur. The most important palkis are those of Sant Jnaneshwar Maharaj from Alandi and Sant Tukaram Maharaj from Dehu.

Here are some of the important Palkis that undertake Pandarpur Yatra:

Sant Jnaneshwar Maharaj from Alandi near Pune.

Sant Tukaram Maharaj from Dehu.

Muktabai from Mehun near Bhusawal in Jalgaon District

Nrisimhav-Saraswati from Mehekar in Buldhana District

Svarupananda from Dhanegaon in District Buldhana

Seshanarayana from Amaravati

Shankara Maharaj from Mahuli in Amaravati District

Rukmini;s Palki from Kondapur

Bhuteshwara from Nagpur

Ekanatha’s Palki from Marathawada

Jnanobha Maharaj from Tuljapur

Nivrttinatha from Tryambakeshwar near Nashik

Sopandeva from Saswad near Pune

Lakshmi Narayana from Saswad.

You may also like to read